Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Who Else Is Watching You?

This month, Lydia asks:

Outside of your writing friends, do other people (work, family, friends) know you blog? What do they think of it? Have you ever been hit with a, “Hey! I read your blog today!” from someone you never expected to read it?

FANTASTIC question, Lydia!

When I first started writing (over 3 1/2 years ago now!), I didn’t tell anybody. Back then, I wasn’t sure where my writing was going. I had dreams, of course, but really it was a way to destress, do something creative, and it was FUN!!!!

Then I joined QueryTracker’s forum and met a bunch of fantastic people! With time, I became comfortable enough to start this blog. It was slow going at first, but as the months passed it developed into what you see today.

My blog posts are connected to Twitter and Facebook and since I’ve friended some co-workers, friends, and family there, they’ve seen the links. Much to my surprise and delight, my blog has spread from writer friends to people in my “real life” circle.

It’s been nice to see them “like” a post and even comment on them!

What’s more, they whole-heartedly support my endeavors. They send “*hugs* and chocolate” when I get a rejection and they send “CONGRATULATIONS! and SQUEEEs!!!” when I announce accomplishments.

Even better, it’s hard for me to go a day to two without someone asking me about my book and my short story!


How about you? Any non-writerly peeps find your blog?

10 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Who Else Is Watching You?

  1. roguemutt says:

    I don’t bother telling anyone I know in the real world about it. They can find out if they want pretty easily.

  2. Lydia K says:

    So cool to see how the intersection of two parts of your life came together!

  3. Hmm… I think there are only two people from my non-writing world who occasionally visit and leave comments on my blog – one of my school friends and my boss (who is also a family friend!). I get quite excited when I see a comment from them🙂
    I don’t generally tell people that I blog. I also don’t often tell people that I write! My first answer to any “What do you do?” question is always “I’m a teacher.” If I carry on chatting to someone for a while then I’ll mention that I also write…

  4. Krispy says:

    That’s cool that your Real Life friends and family are so supportive too! I’m always a little weirded out when my RL friends mention something I blogged – not because I don’t tell them I have a blog but because my interactions with them seem so separate from my bloggy interactions. Haha. I forget that they sometimes stop by too.

  5. Carol Riggs says:

    I don’t think so! Except my hubby reads mine most of the time–or at least skims it. LOL It’s mostly a writerly sharing thing. Fun to read about your experience in blogging!

  6. Yay for supportive friends!

  7. Everybody knows since I have been a writer basically since childhood. But not a lot of them know my work has been published though…

  8. Ciara Knight says:

    Any time a non-writer friend leaves a comment, you know you’ve done well! I love your blog.🙂

  9. A few. It’s always a surprise. Even fewer have ever left a comment, but that’s OK.

  10. Sounds like you have a broad support network. A necessity in this field.

Leave a Reply

