Flake-out Friday Book Trailer Tips AND Contest Winner!


Thanks to random.org, the winner of last week’s blogaversary contest is:

LYDIA!!!

Congrats!

Okay, so you know about book trailers, right? A well done book trailer can create as much excitement as a movie trailer. So. Cool. But how does one determine what should go into a book trailer? Well, I think it’s important to first study the greats.

Take this clip for example:

Something is very wrong with the city of CloverPark.

So, what do you think worked in this trailer?

Personally, I think they did a fine job of melding the scary suspense of Cloverfield with the spoofy humor of South Park. In essence, the trailer blends the two “voices” and creates brilliance. 😉



EDIT: Oh dear, I fear I’ve inadvertenly tricked everyone. This is a trailer for a South Park episode…Cloverpark is one of my favorites & I love how they molded the two together. 😉

At the same time, I think it’s a nice illustration/example of how to put together a book trailer.

14 comments on “Flake-out Friday Book Trailer Tips AND Contest Winner!

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I’d never seen this book trailer. Great choice. I can’t stand South Park. Sorry everyone, don’t hate me. Yet, the trailer was done well. I see what you mean about the two blended together.

  2. Yeah, choosing the elements most important in a book trailer follows the same lead as what should go into a logline or query. You need a hook, suspense, and intrigue.

  3. Lydia K says:

    I know nothing about book trailers, but it was really gripping the way it started!

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    Wow. This is pretty good. I’m with Ciara. I can’t stand South Park, but this trailer was pretty cool. The bunny….OMW

  5. Amie Borst says:

    congrats lydia!

    OMG – that was so hysterical! loved the trailor!

  6. Amie Borst says:

    ummm…i meant trailer. NaNo brain is numb.

  7. Congrats, Lydia! 🙂

  8. I love book trailers, but I’m terrified of making one. So I’m leaving that to people smarter than me.

  9. I’m with Ciara, I don’t care for South Park, either. :p

    Congratulations, Lydia!

    Laura, guess what? Today is FRIDAY!! I’m so happy. ❤

  10. I’m so putting a giant guinea pig in my book trailer–even if it has nothing to do with my book. :

  11. lbdiamond says:

    LOL! I’m glad y’all liked the trailer, regardless of whether or not ya like South Park.

  12. I was happy with the book trailer my publisher created – think they hit all the key elements!

  13. Such a great clip! I’m not usually a South Park fan but I can see why you chose this as an example.

    I’m usually not a fan of most book trailers. I think the way I enjoy books is so fundamentally different to the way I enjoy movies–it’s not a visual or aural experience for me, so visual and aural stimuli don’t do much to get me interested in reading something. That said, I have come across the occasional trailer that knocks my socks off–the book trailer for LINGER by Maggie Stiefvater, for example, is phenomenal.

    I think a good book trailer needs to stand on its own as just a plain good video. Something people who aren’t even readers would be interested in, want to show to their friends, etc.

    (First time visitor to your blog! Hi! :D)

Leave a Reply

