Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Kids Books


Every Wednesday

We’re doing a bit of a throwback this month on the traveling blog.

I ask: What was your favorite childhood book and why? (Is it still on your bookshelf?)

I have a few books from my childhood (and yes, they’re still on my bookshelf, LOL!). The first one that came to mind for this question, though, was Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. Oh yeah, I loved that one! I’d read it and re-read it and re-read it.

“I do not like them, Sam-I-am, I do not like green eggs and ham!”

Okay, so Dr. Suess is just plain cool, but why did I favor this one???

Because Sam-I-am believed in what he knew and he persisted with gentle confidence. All right, so he practically beat his friend over the head until he tried green eggs and ham, but really, he just never. Gave. Up. And guess what? He was right. His friend really did like green eggs and ham. He just had to be flexible enough to try it. And Sam-I-am was patient enough to wait til his friend came around.

Love. It.

green-eggs-and-ham

I would not, could not, in a box.
I could not, would not, with a fox.
I will not eat them with a mouse.
I will not eat them in a house.
I will not eat them here or there.
I will not eat them anywhere.
I do not eat green eggs and ham.
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

 

Alrighty, folks. What’s your favorite book from childhood and why?

Be sure to check back next week when Lydia shares her favorite childhood book and the week after for Danyelle’s answer.

*****ANNOUNCEMENT!*****

Please give a warm welcome to Mantua-maker, Magic Seeker, blogger, and writer extraordinaire, Deb Salisbury! She’s joining the traveling blog and will be posting on the fourth Wednesday of every month. Welcome Deb!!! 😀

15 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Kids Books

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    Welcome, Deb. I’m excited to read your posts. I loved Green Eggs and Ham. I don’t remember my favorite from childhood, but I love The Kissing Hand. It is something I read to my children all the time.

  2. Mask says:

    I always loved Dr. Suess (and still do). My favourite must be Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?
    The enigmatic, masked blogger

  3. randomyriad says:

    Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak has been my favorite since I was four. The language is so simple yet evocative and illustrations are magical.

    That night in Max’s room a forest grew
    and grew and grew
    until the ceiling hung with vines
    and the walls became the world all around.

    It is so perfectly childlike and yet the language, the rhythm and flow of it, is so respectful. The themes are all about the fears and frustrations of childhood, the desire for power and control versus the need for security and love.

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    LOL. I remember Green Eggs and Ham. I don’t remember much else besides, “Dear God, It’s Me Margaret.” I’m not even sure who the author is to tell you the truth (I know, I’m bad.)

    That book made an impact on me, but I don’t remember much else in the way of books. I was a movie girl. Yeah, and those TV shows like Hulk, Wonderwoman….stuff like that.

  5. Lydia K says:

    Welcome Deb! Hooray for joining in!
    And Laura, I will always have a special place in my heart for Dr Seuss, even if that Cat was a terrific troublemaker.
    🙂

  6. Dr. Seuss, Green Eggs and Ham, was my favorite book of all to read to my children. I must be older than dirt. I don’t think my mother could have read Green Eggs and Ham to me. All of the Dr. Seuss books were great. I love good children’s literature.

    Welcome Deb…

  7. elisajeglin says:

    Only one? Hmm, this is hard. Well, Dr. Suess I think is a given, so I won’t name one of his….Stellaluna was a book I loved as a kid…and the napping house…and the teacher from the black lagoon…The Horrible Harry series…and Harry Potter (I was in middle school when the first one was released). There are many, many more, but I’ve probably named enough. I guess I didn’t stick naming only one. Lol.

  8. Arlee Bird says:

    I can’t really remember many specific children’s books that I favored. I do recall having several “Little Golden Books”, but none especially stand out.

    One book that my father gave me in 1958 when I was 7 was actually an art book called The Way, the Truth, and the Life: Paintings by Ralph Pallen Coleman. I have often looked through it and read the accompanying stories over the years and it still sits on my bookshelf.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  9. Hello, everyone! Thanks for the welcome!

    I love Green Eggs and Ham, too, but the first time I *remember* reading it was in a college Children’s Literature class. LOL!

  10. I had never heard of Dr Seuss until I had kids.

    I can’t remember my first books. My grandmother used to give me some small paperback ones I loved. Years later I found out she had bought them for her adult daughter who had downs syndrome. Talk about feeling guilty.

  11. Laura says:

    Hi! My favourite childhood books are by Robert Munsch, a fabulous Canadian author. As a kid, I especially loved his humorous ones, but the story that stuck with me until adulthood is called ”Love You Forever.” A lot of my friends are starting to have kids now, and it’s my go-to baby shower present 🙂

  12. Natasha Hanova says:

    Welcome Deb!

    I don’t remember the name of the book, but it was a collection of stories and poetry. The illustrations were similar to Richard Scarry’s so it may have been one of his books.

  13. lbdiamond says:

    Ooooh, these are some great books–thanks for sharing everyone!!!! 😀

  14. […] about the sisterhood’s all time favorite books from childhood! I kicked the month off with this post, Lydia shared her fav last week. Danyelle is up today and our newest member, Deb is up the […]

  15. Charli Mac says:

    I remember Mrs. Bittenbender (real name), our school librarian, reading us Shell Silverstein every week. Totally captivated me. Sister St. Dominic read us James and the Giant Peach, same effect.

Leave a Reply

