Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Social Media Confessions


Eep, it’s December and I haven’t gotten my Christmas shopping done yet! *head desk*

Welcome to a new month and a new tour of the traveling blog. This month, Lydia asks the question:

Do you twitter, FB, etc besides blogging? why or why not?

Those of you who follow my blog know I just celebrated my one year blogaversary (I never know how to spell that word, geez!) last month. ONE. YEAR! (Can you tell I’m excited about that?)

Back in those days, I was pretty new to the whole social media, let’s-all-get-to-know-each-other-via-the-internet, thing. Thanks to QT (the most super awesomest writerly website, IMHO), I was able to meet some fantastic people, beta readers, crit buds, and all around supportive writers along all stages of the publishing journey.

I’m gonna confess here that I had little knowledge of Facebook and Twitter. PLUS, as a shrink, it’s somwhat important to keep anything about myself on the downlow (of course, tha’t pretty much blown to hell now, so, yeah…oops).

Even though I had little working knowledge of the interwebz, I jumped into the pool of cyberspace and gave it a go. First, I signed up for Facebook. I reconnected with some med school pals, I friended several QT buds, and I networked with a bunch of writerly types–cool! Then, I dove into Twitterland. It’s a strange thing, keeping thoughts to 140 characters, but also fun.

I do enjoy it. VERY MUCH. Problem is, it’s kinda hard to keep up with everyone! LOL!

Regardless of anyone’s stance, I have found the experience of social media interesting, informative, and totally worth it.

Why do I keep doing it? Well, I get to continue developing relatioships, a support network, AND I get to share in the excitement when a writerly pal has a success (such as getting an agent or publishing a book)!

Whaddya all think about blogging, Facebook, Twitter, etc?

Remember to check out Lydia’s response next week! 🙂

11 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Social Media Confessions

  1. I completely agree with you. I was such a newbie when I started blogging about 10 months ago. Fresh meat in the blogosphere…um, yeah. But it really is worth it.

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    Okay, your the second blog with snow. I gotta get me some of that. 🙂
    I LOVE social media. I just dove in around September, so I’m new. Well, been on Facebook longer, but not writing related. Now, I have my pen name up and I’m running with it. 🙂 Love your blog! Looking forward to another year. BTW – what is QT?

  3. Jamie Grey says:

    I think we all go through that newbie period. Some days I still feel like I might be stuck there, but who cares, it’s too much fun 🙂

    I love my twitter account, but you’re right, it IS hard to keep up with everyone and I know I don’t tweet as much as I should. I’ve given up on Facebook myself. It just doesn’t work for me. But I know it’s useful to a lot of people. My blog is my favorite though – I’ve met so many cool people!

    And congrats on the blogiversary! Can’t wait to see what next year brings 🙂

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    I love social media stuff. Facebook and blogging are my favorite. Twitter is fun, too, just different. I keep doing it because I value the relationships I’ve formed through it all. I’ve met some amazing friends, both writers and non writers! Looking forward to another year following your blog! Congrats!

  5. Since I’ve had my blog, I haven’t had enough time to devote to Facebook. I started with Twitter, but again, I have’n’t had time to develop the tweeting concept. These three media are different from one another. I enjoy reading your blog and lots of others. I agree that keeping up with everyone’s blog is difficult.

  6. Good luck with your shopping! I finished mine yesterday. What a relief!

  7. Lydia Kang says:

    Ugh, I haven’t even begun to think about shopping yet. My bad.
    Also, I love the snow in your banner! It’s so lovely!

    I agree, the relationships mean so much!

  8. Katie Gates says:

    I began blogging because of one self-focused reason: I wanted to market my novel. 14 months later, I am consistently blown away by the relationships I have developed with other bloggers and by the variety of remarkable writing. I also think that writers are more supportive of other writers when they are not sitting in the same room, breathing the same air. I don’t know why that is, but it is what I have experienced. As for FB, I’m on there, but I’m not a fan. Too many inconsequential postings. I’ve never tweeted, and I believe I’ll not get started with that. Where twitter is concerned, I’m of the “I don’t get it” school. (Came over here from Lydia’s post.)

  9. Charli Mac says:

    I swore I’d never do all the things I am doing now. My writing would sell itself. Hah. Yes, how naive.

    I FB mostly with fellow aspiring authors. I twitter rarely but log on to eavesdrop on what agents, editors, and pubs are saying.

    I blog with my crit partner mostly to vent about the process, have fun, and learn a wee bit as I trudge along on this journey to publication.

  10. Emily C. Sims says:

    I really do love it, because I get to talk to all kinds of people I never would otherwise, but it does get overwhelming! I could literally sit at my computer all day tweeting and FB-ing. There are so many great people out there on the interwebz, and when I’m not logged on I feel like I’m missing out on something.

    That’s probably a sign of addiction or something!!

  11. I love blogging for meeting new people and FB for connecting with fam and friends. I really really dislike twitter. I have to draw the line somewhere. Most of the time, I can’t understand what people’s twitter posts are even about!

Leave a comment