Flake-out Friday–Mr. Bean and Me


Yeah, so I *love* Mr. Bean. He doesn’t have to say anything–he captures all the emotion in his body language and facial expressions. In the clip below, he experiences the thrill AND the dread/fear/angst/trepidation of adventure.

I have to say I feel the same way about writing. I get a shiny new idea, I brainstrom the heck out of it to see if it’s viable, then I open a Word document and dive in. Usually, I can get a good pace going. But then hesitation takes over. What if it’s crap? What if that plot twist is too ridiculous?

Well, can’t stay on the diving board forever. At some point, you gotta jump.

I hope you enjoy the video!

Mr. Bean Goes Swimming

9 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Mr. Bean and Me

  1. Paul Greci says:

    My internet connection is really slow today so I’ll have to catch the video later, but I agree, you have to jump!

  2. charli mac says:

    OMG, I love the perfect posture as he runs. I love when he pets the elephant! Classic Bean.

    Yes, I feel the same way. What if ’tis all crap! I need to jump myself, haven’t been writing. But I feel like Bean inching up to the edge. I’m not yet committed to the jump.

  3. Ciara Knight says:

    ROFL Thanks for this, Laura. What a great video.
    Great timing, too. I’ve been so unsure about my current WIP. Who am I to write a Steampunk/Paranormal. LOL. Well, guess I’ll see what happens. I’m jumping in.

  4. I LOVE BEAN!!! My favorite Bean scene is when he messes up the face of Whistler’s Mother. I was laughing so hard I was in pain! Great video clip!

    xoxo — Hilary

  5. Lynn Rush says:

    LOVE IT! What a great way to start FRIDAY OFF—laughing.

  6. Poor Mr. Bean! Ha! I enjoyed the video. Blessings to you…

  7. Indigo says:

    Love the video. I’ve made the jump, just have to learn to be a stronger swimmer. (Hugs)Indigo

  8. elisajeglin says:

    OMG I loved this. When he goes straight for the high diving board instead of the low one I thought it was a great representation of what writers are like. Then we linger at the top until two crit partners show up who wait until we’re finished to read our manual, but we’re too nervous to give it to them, and when we’re finally dangling over the edge, they smash our fingers, lol.

    Awesome!

  9. dawnall says:

    Diving board – great metaphor for writing. The fear that the water isn’t there to soften the fall. Doubts…writers like most artists are full of them.

Leave a Reply

