Mental Health Monday–Well, Nanoers, Y’all Deserve a Break!


Wow, I *cannot* believe November is coming to a close. And for those of you who participated in NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month), I have to give y’all a big pat on the back and a congratulations!

I know, I know, there’s still a day left. BUT, whether or not you crossed the 50,000 word finish line, you still walk away from this month victorious.

Why?

Because you set a goal and you worked toward it. (And that’s just as important, in my book.)

Lemme ‘splain.

You know those stages of change? (Here’s a quick run-down if ya don’t.)

  • Precontemplation–There’s no problem here. Everything is *just* fine. I don’t gotta change nuthin’.
  • Contemplation–Huh, well, somethin’s amiss. I suppose I should change it…nah, maybe later. I’m tired.
  • Planning–I’m gonna change this and here’s how I’m gonna do it.
  • Action–I’m making the change.
  • Maintenance–The change has been made and I’m sticking to it. Squee!
  • Relapse–Screw it. I’m going back to the way it was. -or- Whoopsie, I goofed.

You can think of these stages as a progression. The goal is to get through them until you hit the maintenance phase. Relapse is a reversion to “pre-change levels/behaviors”, but it doesn’t mean you can’t jump back in there and head toward action again.

MOST people cycle through the stages in a non-linear fashion. That’s life. (I do it to.)

The *crucial* step is determining you’d like to make a change and then actually DOING something about it. A LOT of people never get to the doing.

I suppose this is a long-winded way of saying:

IF YOU SIGNED UP FOR NANO AND PUT WORDS ON A DOCUMENT, THEN YOU’VE FOUND SUCCESS IN THE ACTION STAGE. DON’T GIVE UP.

*steps off soap box* *throws confetti*

Now, for those of you still heading toward the finish line, you’ve got over 24 hours. Go, go, go!!!!

(Clearly, this post is for writing purposes only. Reviewing the stages of change is not meant to be medical advice or treatment in any way, but I gotta put up the disclaimer, ya know.)

And don’t forget to check out Lydia’s post on Medical Monday!

Alrighty, gang. Who went for Nano this year and how did it go?

13 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Well, Nanoers, Y’all Deserve a Break!

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I’ve got 3865 words to go! Thanks for the motivation. 🙂 Have a great Monday.

  2. Doris says:

    ahhhh… NaNo… This is the first time I tried it. Well, I knew nothing about NaNoWriMo until Oct. 30, and following my impulsivity, I jumped into the water! I won’t reach the 50k words, but I have to say that it’s been a heck of a learning, plus the beginning of an eventual novel. I never envisioned me writing a novel. I was happy just with my short stories. I thought a novel was a very hard and long project. I still think it is, but by doing the NaNo I’ve found the motivation to face the challenge.

    Thanks for this encouraging post!

    Doris

  3. I didn’t sign up because I was already working on a new wip and couldn’t wait for November before starting. My goal was to write 50,000 words. Not even close. I got super busy and ended up editing a different ms, instead.

    So my goal for December is to finish the first draft. That is definitely possible because I have only 35,000 words to go, and more time to work on it (i.e. no vacations).

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    NICE! Great post. Yep. I did NaNo this year. Had a blast. It was my second year and this year was even more fun than last year. Met tons of awesome writers!

    Love NaNo. Now, I’ve shoved that novel into hiding for at least a month or so, then I’ll go back to it and revise it to within an inch of its life and see if I have anything worth keeping. 🙂

  5. Amie Borst says:

    i went for it, but relapsed at 10 days in. needless to say i didn’t finish my nano and with only 24 hours to go, even if i wrote every minute, it would be impossible to type out 32,000 words. i’ll be blogging about my experience on wednesday…..

  6. NaNo’s been a good motivator. Now, if I can just keep writing at the same speed until the novel is finished, I’ll be thrilled. 🙂

  7. Natasha Hanova says:

    Great pep talk. I didn’t do NaNo this year, but have been making progress in my current WIP, currently on the Action step. 🙂

  8. Cinette says:

    NaNo didn’t work out for me, this year. I started it alright, but promptly came down with a case of anemia, followed very shortly by a case of pnuemonia. Needless to say, I was knocked flat. Then once I started coming around from those pesky problems, I had to catch up on everything else that fell behind! My whole year seems to have gone that route, so I’m excited to see a new year around the corner!

  9. Lydia Kang says:

    Protchaska di Clemente. I always spell that wrong. But it’s soooo useful. I think about that in terms of my writing and my patients!

  10. Becky says:

    I like this post!

    I need to be motivated and to also have accountability-or I probably won’t do it.

    I jumped into nano with no idea what I was doing, BUT I did manage to finish it. Now I just need to finish the story.

    The dreaded part is the editing. There should be a nano for editing, but tweaked so that we edit a few pages each day….

    And thanks for your advice early on, it helped!

  11. I’m a NaNo winner this year. Last year I barely wrote a thing. Both years I learned a lot though. It’s so cool to win the NaNo race, but just entering is a thrill!

  12. KarenG says:

    Well I didn’t do it but I think those who did deserve a huge vat of chocolate to swim naked in while carrying large spoons, oh wait, er– yes, congrats to all who won NaNo!

  13. Emily C. Sims says:

    I sort of ‘used’ Nano 🙂 I didn’t need 50,000 words, I only needed about 15,000 more to finish my book. So I used Nano as a crutch to get to the end… and I made it! I didn’t write as much as everyone else, and I really applaud those who managed to get 50K words down in a month!

Leave a Reply

