Happy New Year!


So, 2012 is here. If the Mayans are right, we only have a few months left to do whatever we plan to while on this planet.

The natural follow up to this is a discussion on goals. (Never mind that I’m not really buying the whole Doomsday in December thing.)

Last year, I wrote a list of writerly goals. I met about half of them. But I’m not disappointed, considering I had a huge change in my work responsibilities and I had a huge battle with my mojo over the past couple of months.

This year, I’m not going to write down goals. Why?

I don’t wanna.

Some may think that’s lame, but I don’t. I know what my overall goal is:

GET PUBLISHED.

BUT, I can’t put a timeline to that. All I can do is try my best every day. If that means slamming out 5000 words or doing absolutely nothing, that’s gonna have to be good enough.

Tell me folks, what’s your approach to goals?

Be sure to send me a writerly related psychiatric question so I can address it here on Mental Health Mondays. Check out Lydia’s Medical Monday (she’s talking about telekinesis today. Cool!!!) and Sarah Fine’s The Strangest Situation.

Cheers!

18 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. Hey, woman, you do whatever you need to do to get through the year. if that means trashing goals, well, so be it. But, remember that you have to know where you want to be in order to get there. I think it sounds like you know. 🙂

  2. Kendall Grey says:

    I’m with you on the “I don’t wanna write goals” thing. I know the general direction of where I need to go. I’m quite navigationally challenged, so I expect I’ll make a lot of wrong turns, but that’s okay with me. 🙂

  3. julie f says:

    This is the first year I did not write out formal goals, either. I know what I want, it’s just a matter of staying positive. Plus, seeing those goals that crashed and burned is sort of a bummer.

  4. Karen Lange says:

    Yes, me too! Big picture goal is to get my WIP published. Lots of little goals as well, like get more articles out there, etc. We need to keep moving forward with that big goal in mind. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  5. Arlee Bird says:

    I have general goals that I keep in mind, but things are always changing. I don’t write them down (except when I’ve put them in a blog post). I think I’d prefer not to make them known or make them too concrete so I can be open to the changes that may come my way.

    Hope you and I both get published–soon.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  6. Akoss says:

    Yay. I’m not the only one not writing down goals this year 🙂
    Happy New Year to you!

  7. Happy New Year, Laura!

    I’m avoiding goals. At least, specific goals. I never meet them, so I feel disappointed.

    I’m just gonna keep on keeping on! 😉

  8. I write small goals that I know I can control. Getting published will be (because I’m sending it out to the universe) the result of my goals accomplished. LOL.

  9. Linda Gray says:

    Goals, schmoals! For some of us, writing down specific goals is an exercise in self-defeat. But I have to admit, feeling the power of one big overall goal can be pretty inspiring. Here’s mine for this year: stay open and pay attention to all the cool (and not so cool) things that come my way. Life’s in the interstices so much of the time, and you can’t see that without the big picture!

  10. LydiaK says:

    I think concentrating on you know what’s in your power–writing good stories, taking care of yourself, querying, stuff like that–makes sense. The hope of publication should help kindle that fire, but the truth is we have no power over it (assuming we’re not talking self-pubbing). Keep doing what you do best (writing kick ass stories) and the rest will follow.

  11. Mike Offutt says:

    You can do it. You’re a Psychiatrist. Just climb inside the brain of the agent and figure them all out with your super powers and bammo…contract.

  12. Happy New Year!
    Getting published is a good overall goal and I think it’s smart not to put yourself on a timetable. My goal is to finish my wip and hopefully I will before the end of the year.

    One of my friends posted on FB “I’d be more worried if more Mayans were winning the lottery.” 🙂

  13. Lindsay says:

    Happy New Year!

    I’m with you on not writing down goals. I have ideas of what I want to do this year, but I’m not tying myself to it with a timetable. I plan on writing, editing, reading, and seeing what the year brings… but it’d be nice if it brings an agent (and a book deal). *grins*

  14. J E Fritz says:

    I don’t blame you for not writing it down. “Get published” is one of my unofficial goals, too, but it’s so hard to judge when my work will be ready, if anyone will be interested, etc. etc. My approach to goals? Don’t relax until I’m sure I’ve done all I can.

  15. lexcade says:

    Happy new year!!! Here’s my one goal for 2012: Finish something. Anything. A manuscript, a short story, a collection of pomegranates. Just…finish. Yeah. That sounds good.

  16. There must be something going around. I kept my goals really simple for this year. I want to finish 3 projects that are in various stages of completion. Last year I set 3 writerly resolutions, and I met 2 and did all I could for the 3rd, but it wasn’t meant to be. We have to hold ourselves accountable in the ways that work for us as individuals. So, good luck in 2012 reaching your big goal!

  17. Donna Hole says:

    My goal is to get four short stories published. I’ve submitted three of them. Wouldn’t it be nice if they got snatched up right away and I only had to write one more; for the whole year 🙂

    Getting published is an awesome goal, and I hope you succeed Laura.

    Happy new year.

    ………dhole

  18. Happy New Year! Good luck Laura!

Leave a Reply

