BLOG CHAIN–Character Fears


It’s Christine’s turn to pose a question to the blog chain, and boy, oh boy, did she pick a great one!

“What is the main character of you current WiP most afraid of and why? Don’t use a previously finished work. This is all about discovering the inner motivations of your current characters – the ones you don’t know all that well yet.”

Since I’m letting my YA dystopian “rest,” I’ve been working on my middle grade adventure. My MC is dynamic, feisty, prone to asthma attacks, and definitely the boss over her twin sister. (Gosh, it’s really fun to think like a 13 year old again. Never thought I’d really say that, but it’s true…My, my, what a journey this writing thing has been!)

Anne has a lot to fear. Both parents suffer some form of mental illness (my characters have to have something psych going on. I can’t help it, I’m a shrink!). Her sister is fragile in her OCD ways. Her BFF, William, is changing before her eyes (in a good, but kinda scary way). And she’s just woken the Gemini twins, who have a powerful magic she has little control over…all because she wants to celebrate her 13th birthday in style.

All this she can handle, well, so she thinks. It’s not until a witch–upset by Anne’s usurping the cosmic magics she’s collecting–systematically destroys everything Anne cares for. Right down to erasing her sister’s memory from everyone but her. Anne has to fight to get her sister back before the witch claims them both and ends up with the power to control the stars.

Well, that came out more back-of-the-cover-book-blurby than I anticipated. It’s a fine line, describing enough to get my point across while not giving too much away, cuz it’s still a WIP, but I hope the mission is accomplished.

Check out Margie’s post from yesterday and Shaun’s post tomorrow for their characters’ fears.

19 comments on “BLOG CHAIN–Character Fears

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    Your MG sounds fantastic. I’ll confess, I love reading YA and MG! 🙂

  2. Michelle H. says:

    That sounds like a great blurb, and a great way to describe your character’s fears! 🙂

  3. Charli Mac says:

    Love the blurb!

    My MC fears love. She’s had significant loss in her life; her parents, a child, and her husband all died. So, when she reunites with her childhood sweetheart, who is in the midst of a divorce himself, she fears losing him and keeps him at arms length.

  4. Cole Gibsen says:

    Awesome blurb! Definitely a three-demensional character you’ve got going on! Nice job 🙂

  5. I like this idea. Sounds like a very engagable MG book. I have one in the works as well, but not as cool sounding as that one.

    My current WIP’s greatest fear is herself, how about that for a fear? She paralyzed because of the telekinesis that she has gets out of control if she can’t control her emotions and since she’s a 16 year old girl, it can cause for some pretty hairy situations for her inner struggle. It’s a fun way to really get involved with my character on a personal level.

  6. Wow – sounds like a great read with well-thought out character fears. I’m a Gemini so I love the bit about “waking the Gemini twins” – fun!

  7. Shaun Hutchinson says:

    Your MG sounds amazing! I can’t wait to read it.

  8. Danyelle says:

    Love this! YA and MG are my favorite things to read. It is kind of fun looking back and being 13 again. (For an afternoon)

  9. My MC is a father that fears losing his young son to a kidnapper. Not only does he fear this, but he also realizes that the loss of his son could mean losing his wife, as well, to the bitterness of her soul. As head of the family, he shoulders a heavy burden, as he strives to find his son, encourage his family, and keep his own feelings from defeating him.

  10. Lydia K says:

    I can’t wait to read this…the stakes sound great, the paranormal element is cool…great post, Laura!

  11. lbdiamond says:

    Thanks for the positive reviews, gang! You guys rock! *Mwah mwah* XOXO

  12. lexcade says:

    oooooh!!!! glad you’re sticking with your MG. though i loved what i read of endure, i think this one just has that something special, you know?

    in my current WIP, i have two main characters. one fears forgiving her husband for his suicide because his guilt is what keeps him bound to earth and–ultimately–to her. so when she meets a new guy while working on a pretty intense case and develops feelings for him, she’s scared to let him in because that pushes her hubby out.

    the other fears falling in love with the demon who’s been after her (romantically) for 400 years. if she does, she betrays her duty and the archangels to whom she swore her vow of servitude until Armageddon, thereby releasing all kinds of badness on herself, and double for her dude.

  13. I’ve seen this mentioned on a number of blogs laterly: using fear as a motivation. I think I naturally use my characters’ fears without even realizing it. That revelation came to me when I read the posts. 😉

  14. This sounds very interesting, with some neat twists. And it’s not too bad that it came out “back of the book blurby”. Nice job!

  15. […] stop by Laura’s blog to see her character’s […]

  16. Wow, that sounds TERRIFIC!! And I love characters who have psych issues, makes the topic that much more interesting. Your MC sounds like she’d have a lot of spunk too–another fave characteristic.

Leave a comment