Blog Tour with Michelle McClean!


I’m super excited to be a part of this book tour. Michelle’s book, Homework Helpers: Essays and Term Papers is a fantastic resource for students. Her easy to follow guidelines and engaging prose make it fun to learn!!!

AND, not only has Michelle graciously offered to guest post today, she’s offering some swag to a lucky commenter. Thanks, Michelle!

So, check out her post on juggling between fiction and non-fiction writing, leave a comment, and I’ll select a name via random.org. The contest closes one week from today, February 5th, at midnight EST. Good luck!

**********

THE JUGGLING GAME

Since I write both non-fiction and fiction, I’m often asked how I juggle the two. I’d love to say that I’m super organized about it. In fact, when my youngest went off to kindergarten this year, leaving me all alone at home all day, I had grand plans. Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays were going to be for fiction, from 10-2. And Tuesdays and Thursdays would be my non-fiction days.

Things didn’t quite work out that way 🙂 I reverted to my old ways, which, while they may not be as organized, work great for me.

For me, fiction takes more time. It is harder to write, takes more thought, more editing, more of everything. Non-fiction comes much easier. It’s mostly a restating of facts; taking the topic at hand and just explaining it. It doesn’t require as much time or energy to do.

So I tend to spend more time on fiction. When I come to a place, and I always do, where I’m either stuck or just plain sick of my fiction WIP, I switch to non-fiction. I spend a few hours or days working on my latest project. And somehow, freeing the more creative side of my brain to rest while the analytical non-fiction side takes over, usually releases me from whatever fiction stalemate I was in and the creative juices start to flow once again.

I absolutely love writing both genres. I’ve always loved learning, researching, organizing my thoughts into really good outlines that turn into essays and papers. I LOVE doing that sort of stuff. My non-fiction work allows me to indulge in that love and help a few people along the way.

But I’m also a dreamer; an overly imaginative, head in the clouds, always wanting to get lost in some other time or world, hands down fiction junkie. I LOVE it. And my fiction work allows me to pamper that side of myself…and hopefully entertain a few people along the way as well 🙂

So for me, it’s not so much a matter of juggling, but giving each part of me quality time…kind of like you do for your children. Each genre gets their own special “writer-mommy” time. Sometimes one project needs a little more TLC than the other; sometimes one needs to be put on time-out for a bit; and sometimes I’m just more in a NF or Fiction frame of mind…which could change at any given second 🙂

But no matter what, I make sure every project I’m working on gets the time and attention it needs. And being able to do both gives me the outlets I need for the different aspects of my personality. It’s a win-win all the way around 🙂

Michelle McLean is a writer and the Chief Editorial Consultant for PixelMags, LLC. In addition to her non-fiction work, Michelle writes YA historical novels and other children’s books. If she’s not editing, reading or chasing her kids, she can usually be found in a quiet corner working on her next book.

Homework Helpers: Essays and Term Papers is a fun, user-friendly book that guides the reader, step by step, through writing a dozen different types of essays, including the dreaded SAT essay. Using straightforward, plain English, this book shows the reader exactly what they need to do, from start to finish, and includes rough draft, edited, and final draft versions of every type of essay discussed. This book also provides chapters that include tips and instruction on researching, proofreading, and citations.

Psst, here’s the swag you could win!!! Don’t forget to leave a comment. 😉

**********

For more information about Michelle and her book, check out these links!

 

7 comments on “Blog Tour with Michelle McClean!

  1. Misha says:

    That’s very true. I write books in three genres.

    All are fiction, but all are very different.

    But I get to work little bits on them all, simply because I write the other two when my beast of an epic gives me trouble.

    🙂

  2. Doris says:

    Great post!
    Michelle’s book seems like a very interesting guide. Congratulations!

    Doris

  3. Great post, Michelle! Good luck with your book! I know it’s going to do great. 🙂

  4. Cinette says:

    I’m planning to pick up Michelle’s book for my college student/daughter. Congrats, Michelle, for getting it out there!

  5. This books sound great! Can’t wait to get it for my daughter!

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Emily Murdoch and Laura Diamond, Laura Diamond. Laura Diamond said: Blog Tour with Michelle McClean! : http://t.co/mVNjI9G […]

  7. vtremp says:

    Michelle, you’re such a renaissance woman! Good luck with this book, and I look forward to seeing the fiction, too.

    Vicki
    http://www.vbtremper.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

