Flake-out Friday: Blogfest Announcement


Hey gang! I’m super stoked to announce Tessa Conte and I are co-hosting a blogfest about…drumroll please–

The Nature of Magic!

I know you’re all dying to share what magic means to you (or your character)? Is it all “whatever, it’s a bunch of fluff and nonsense”? Or maybe it’s “abracadabra alacazam”? Or maybe something else altogether different, unknown, and mysterious?

Bottom line: Magic is different for everyone, and we want to know what it means to you – yes YOU! So, join our blogfest and tell us (or your character) all about it! Here’s what we want you to do:

THE TASK:

Write or share something you’ve already written that, to you, shows the nature of magic (in 1000 words or less). It can be an excerpt from your WIP, something you’ve written especially, poetry, whatever strikes your fancy. It just needs to show the nature of magic as it exists for you or for those you write about.

THE RULES:

  1. Sign up on the linky list below.
  2. Choose or write a piece about the Nature of Magic and post it on your blog on March 26th. That’s a Saturday – we’ll go easy on you and say it has to be up by Sunday night (so last chance midnight on the 27th – that’s when the linky list closes, too)(mind you, that’s midnight Central European Time). Just be aware that if you’re very late your entry might be missed, so please do let us know via comments once you’ve posted.
  3. Check out what others think of magic and give them some comment love!
  4. Come back on Wednesday March 30th to see the three “finalists” (chosen by us) and vote on your favourite. Votes will be open till April 2ndwinner(s) announced April 3rd.

We’d appreciate it if you advertised our blogfest. If you like, here’s two banners/buttons you can put up on your blog….

THE PRIZES:

1st choice: Chapter critique from both of us + $ 10 Amazon Voucher
2nd choice: Chapter critique from one of us + $ 10 Amazon Voucher
3rd choice: Chapter critique from one of us

THE LINKY:

The Nature of Magic Blogfest Linky

***Please do sign up and let us know what magic means to YOU! Also, it would be super nice if you’d comment once you’ve signed up. You can also sign up on Tessa’s Blog if you like, the linky’s the same!***

34 comments on “Flake-out Friday: Blogfest Announcement

  1. I should definately have something in my poetry vault that I can share for this. Sounds like fun. 🙂

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  2. Akoss says:

    I signed up to join and will advertise the blogfest on my blog this week end.

  3. Vicki Tremper says:

    Sounds fun. I don’t have anything to share that fits, but I look forward to reading the entries and I’ll certainly help spread the word.

  4. March 26th is my birthday. I think it will be fun to add some magic to my birthday. Since each of my manuscripts has magic, I’ll come up with something. I’m in!

  5. Ciara Knight says:

    Sounds fantastic. I’ll see if I have anything. Not sure I do, but I’ll tweet this. 🙂

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ciara Knight, Vicki Tremper. Vicki Tremper said: The Nature of Magic Blogfest Announcement: http://t.co/CUxZzsq @DiamondLB […]

  7. Oooh, magic 🙂
    I’ll think about this.

  8. Tessa Conte says:

    WHoot whoot! We are SOOO cool! 15 people and the first day isn’t even over! (OK 13 if you don’t count us but hey) ; P

    Tessa.xx

  9. Margo says:

    Great balls of fire what a great idea for a blogfest – and while I was debating if I had something I could possibly submit to this, I just got a great idea – thanks for the inspiration!

    But I do have a suggestion – 500-600 words is better than 1000. Forces us to be selective. Just my 2 cents worth. And makes it easier to read more entries!

  10. Oh yeah, baby, I’m in!!! Signed up and I’m off to work thanks Laura!!!

  11. Oh, don’t forget to let Rach know you’re hosting a blogfest. She’ll post something on her blog.

  12. J.C. Martin says:

    Great idea! Have added it to my blogfests page! Looking forward to it! Love the prizes! 🙂

  13. Talli Roland says:

    What a great idea for a blogfest! I’ll certainly keep it in mind!

  14. Hmm. I guess I’d better look into some of my old poems. I hate to subject you all to those things. 🙂 But I will see what I can come up with.
    Anyhow, I’m your newest crusade follower. My blog is at http://www.idevourkidbooks.blogspot.com
    See you around the blog-o-sphere

  15. Kristal Lee says:

    This is AWESOME! I’m in.

  16. This is a blogfest challenge that I couldn’t resist. I’m fascinated by the topic of magic, the way that it means different things to different people.

    I’m in the middle of a serious campaign on my blog to stop the negligence of elderly people in our UK NHS hospitals but I will make sure I can fit in a blog about magic before your deadline.

  17. howardgirls2003 says:

    I’m in!

  18. Madeleine says:

    Ooh that sounds brilliant! :O)

  19. Very cool, I’m in. I will schedule mine to be up the Friday before, March 25.
    Cheers.
    Nancy
    N. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium

  20. Definitely interested. Great topic. You’re Linky seemed to be down when I tried to access it, but I’ll try again later.

  21. This sounds so challenging! I’m signing up to stretch myself as an author. Great idea guys!

  22. […] to check out. And one of those lovely bloggers up there (LB Diamond, to be exact) is holding a Nature of Magic Blogfest! Go check it out if you are interested, and pop back over here on the 26th to find out what I […]

  23. I love the idea for this blogfest! I’m in!

    (also, you have an award over at my blog waiting for you!)

  24. I signed up! YAY!!! I’m so looking forward to this 😀

  25. Hi, Laura! I just wrote a post this past friday on magic. Fun blogfest. I’d have to think on this one, my schedule is filled…
    *HUGS* I hope you’re doing great!

    ♥.•*¨ Elizabeth ¨*•.♥

  26. Ha, I am game too!!!

    Check out my entry!!!

    with warm regards

  27. MorningAJ says:

    I’m in. I’ve just written something that has magic in it and I wasn’t sure why….. I know now!

  28. Mary W. says:

    I just stumbled across this blogfest and am very interested. I am working on fleshing out the magic of the world in my current WIP, so this is perfect timing!

    I’ll get the button up on my blog this weekend!

  29. Aaaaahh! I’m so glad I was trying to catch up on all of this stuff and found this! I’m already following, linky’d in (whatever the heck that means but I got it done!) and I’m really looking forward to this! Thanks to you guys for putting it on!!

  30. […] interested in reading the whole story, it can be found here. For a list of blogfest entries, click here. Share: Blog this! Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Subscribe to the comments on this post […]

  31. MorningAJ says:

    My story is up and available! Looking forward to reading other people’s views on magic.
    http://jobbingwriter.blogspot.com/2011/03/once-upon-time-2-real-magic.html

  32. Linda says:

    I have posted my Dark Magic, but having difficulty getting my comments to display here. I’ve looked at a few of the submissions and they are quite good!

    ttp://scheherazade-thewritinglife.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment