Flake-out Friday–December


As I surfed Amazon a few days ago, I discovered a YA novel (due out in May 2011) with the title ENDURE.

MY title.

Grrrr!

I’d named my YA dystopian ENDURE and now it belongs to someone else. * stomps foot *

What’s a girl to do?

I could come up with another title, I guess, but I really suck at it, LOL!

Man, I wish I could come up with this uber-awesome, totally symbolic, captures-the-entire-book-in-one-word title.

Or maybe I should just use some random word for the title. You know, something that has nothing to do with the book.

Sort of like the song December by Collective Soul.

I like this song, but what the hell does it have to do with December?!?!?!

Whatever.

12 comments on “Flake-out Friday–December

  1. kendallgrey says:

    As long as your books don’t relate, why does it matter? There are a couple of books out there with the same titles as mine, but they’re so different, no one could confuse them. I say keep your title!

  2. Ah boo but I’m sure there are a lot of books that end up with the same title like songs!

  3. salarsen says:

    Ugh, that stinks, but you can still use it. No copyrights on titles!! I like the title, and as long as it applies to your story I say go for it. 🙂

  4. roguemutt says:

    Maybe you should use more than one word. Change it to like “Enduring [something]” A lot of titles I use are song titles anyway so it doesn’t really matter to me.

  5. Reece says:

    I love Collective Soul! Especially that song. Easily one of my favorites.

  6. The title of my book has been on a half-dozen books already plus it is a really bad movie. I don’t care. I just named it that because it is the best name. Honestly, I don’t think you should be afraid of titling something because it may have been used before.

    BTW…the picture if you like it is from Digitalblasphemy.com. I have a subscription membership to the artist’s website that runs digitalblasphemy and he is quite talented. It’s all original artwork and he allows you to use it if you pay for a membership (in case you were wondering).

  7. Stephanie says:

    Titles can’t be copyrighted. Just so you know. Stick with the title until you’re agented and have a deal and someone suggests otherwise.

  8. That sucks! I feel your pain. I am so married to the working title of my WIP, I’d become a crazed beast if anybody took it.

  9. Better to find another book with the same title than one with a similar concept.

    I agree with the others. Keep your title. Besides, you never know if the publisher will change it some where down the line.

  10. LydiaK says:

    Don’t worry too much. Chances are, the publisher would have changed it anyway!
    Seriously though. Think of Elana J’s Possession. I mean, you know how many other books (and some, bestsellers) out there with the same title? So, it’s not necessarily the end of yours.

  11. Karen Lange says:

    The same thing happened with my WIP, so on to another title. Which may or may not make it to the final draft. lol Happy weekend!

  12. Catherine Johnson says:

    You’re so funny, why don’t you have a competition for the best title from all those who have read it?

    Yes, there are loads out there with the same name. Fallen Angel is one.

    We don’t get to decide on titles anyway I wouldn’t worry. HAGW!

Leave a comment