Blog Chain–Favorite Couple


This round of the blog chain was started by Shaun, who asked:

Who is your favorite literary couple and why?

Holy crap, I have no idea!!!

My first thought is Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter series (cuz, it’s like totally cute, right?). Then, I thought about Bella and Edward (cuz whether you like ’em or not, these two characters are *made* for each other). But my all time favorite literary couple has to be Beauty and the Beast. Why? Because their love was more than just skin deep. Because it’s what’s on the inside that counts. Because the movie version has a talking candlestick.

Be sure to check out Margie’s post from yesterday in case you missed it.

18 comments on “Blog Chain–Favorite Couple

  1. Trisha says:

    Talking candlesticks FTW! 😀

    I like a lot of the Disney couples.

    I also like some couples who never were, i.e. I think they should have got together but they didn’t. lol

  2. Great linky. Okay, I love B&B for the same reason, but I think my fave is Cinderella and the Prince. He saw something graceful and special in a matter of a few dances. Went to all extremes to find her. When he found her and found out she was working as a servant to her witchy step-mother, he didn’t care. He still rescued her and married her and they lived happy-ever-after. I probably loved Cinderella because of her spirit. She couldn’t be broken. So special.

  3. Kristal Lee says:

    Yep, B&B- my all time favorite couple.

  4. Easy to answer, for me – I’ve always love Jane Austen’s Emma and her Mr. Knightly, chiefly because Emma must journey through such a deep transformation to find and claim her love.

  5. Charli Mac says:

    Jamie and Claire from Donna Gabaldon’s The Outlander. Amazing couple who sacrifice themselves over and over again to save the other. Gorgeous! Second would be Noah and Ally from The Notebook. Sigh.

  6. Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie because of their relationship. I also liked that they made Belle a bookworm.

  7. Vicki Tremper says:

    I’ve always had a crush on the Disney version of Aladdin, so I might have to say that Aladdin and Princess Jasmine are my favorite couple, but not really literary since I didn’t read the original and in that the couple could be horrible.

    He, too, went to extraordinary links for the woman he loved and he was just so darn charming.

  8. Stephanie McGee says:

    The first two that come to mind for me are Jane and Rochester and Lizzie and Darcy. With Bingley and Jane close behind. For Disney relationships, definitely Belle and Beast, but also Mulan and Shang.

  9. Oh yes, because more important than love is talking wax cylinders. Lol.

    ❤ Gian Blechman

  10. randomyriad says:

    For compatibility of passion and virtue, I like Dorthea and Will in Middlemarch. They are so in love with being useful and making a difference as well as being in love with each other.

  11. vixw2010 says:

    Good question! I would say Darcy and Elizabeth with Bella and Edward second but I also love B & B, I want to live in an enchanted castle 🙂

  12. Trisha says:

    Mmm yes, I agree with the Darcy & Elizabeth *drool* Yes I’m thinking of the Colin Firth version 😀

  13. ciara knight says:

    Oh yes, Emma and Mr. Knightly is one of my faves. 🙂

  14. Beauty and the Beast was a cool answer!

    I’d have to say Rhett and Scarlett, because their love/hate relationship feels so much more real than most romantic couples, and the fire and ice dynamic makes their love scenes even better. 🙂

  15. Ha-ha! Yeah, I like the talking candlestick, too. 🙂

  16. Margie says:

    Good one! Yes, if someone can get past her beau looking like an animal, that’s true love!

  17. […] out Michelle’s post if you still haven’t and then zoon right over to Laura’s post, who put hers up on time even though yours truly blanked as usual. // Posted in Blog […]

  18. Cole Gibsen says:

    What a great answer. Pop culture movie aside, you have to read Beastly – I totally fell in love with that book.

Leave a comment