When The Movie Is Better Than The Book


I watched Insurgent yesterday (YAY!) and thoroughly enjoyed it. I think it’s better than Divergent turned out, though I really enjoyed it too.

The book Divergent was the reason I saw the movie. 

I cannot say the same for Insurgent. For whatever reason, I just couldn’t get into the book and gave up 40 pages in (something I rarely do). That didn’t deter me from watching the movie and I’m glad it didn’t.

So what happened? Is the movie really better than the book? Is Insurgent the exception to the rule (where the book is always better) for me?

Looks like.

Honestly, I’ll prolly try reading Insurgent again at some point…I just can’t give up on the story. Nevertheless I still feel the film was fantastic.

  

Interestingly, I’m also reading Shutter, a new YA book about the descendants from characters in the novel Dracula (Harker, Stoker, Helsing, etc). They fight paranormal creatures like ghosts, zombies, and vamps. It’s a good book, however, I’m struck with the thought that this may be another case of the film having the potential to be better than the book. Now, this book isn’t being adapted to film as far as I know, but if it was, I’m sure the special effects would be beyond cool to see. 

  

Gosh, I can’t believe I’m saying this! 

How about you? Have you ever experienced a film that’s better than the book? Do tell! 

One comment on “When The Movie Is Better Than The Book

  1. Vicki Tremper says:

    I read Divergent and enjoyed it, but (as often happens to me with dystopian trilogies) it ended in a way that didn’t make me want to read the next book. I haven’t seen the movie only because I don’t get to the movies often, especially without kids or hubs. I can’t think of a movie that was better than the book. I’m sure it happens. Rarely. 😀

Leave a Reply

