Believe In Yourself


I’ve been reworking rewriting an old project for a couple weeks now and let me tell you I’m struggling with it.

Not the story itself. I loved getting reacquainted with the characters. And once I consulted Save The Cat (a screenwriting guide that’s helpful for plotting novels too), I was able to outline a new and improved plot.

The first couple of chapters practically wrote themselves. Then I ground to a halt. For some reason, I hated everything I wrote. I froze when I opened the Word doc to continue drafting. I fell into a funk. HARD.

The reason?

I lost all confidence in my ability to write.

Some call it writer’s block, some call it procrastination, and some call it an empty creative well. For me, when I’m not writing it’s because I can’t see anything good about my skills. It doesn’t matter that I’ve written a million words. It doesn’t matter that I have published works. It doesn’t matter that people have told me how much they like X, Y, or Z about my stories.

Lack of confidence means all I see are the negatives and I’m blind to the positives.

It totally sucks donkey balls. And I HATE when it happens. I’m basically at a standstill, a dead end, encased in concrete.

I could quit. Then I wouldn’t have to fight myself and feel like crap. I wouldn’t feel guilty about watching TV when I should be writing. I wouldn’t be chastising myself for not working on that cool story that’s nagging at the back of my mind.

But I can’t quit. My friends won’t let me, lol!

And deep down, I don’t want to quit. Because I’ve got more than one story nagging at me. I’ve got more like ten.

And I do know how to write. I just have to remind myself of that.

How do I do that?

I write. And while I write, I let my character(s) talk to me. I transcribe what they see, hear, think, and feel. Once I get in their head(s), the story starts to emerge. And before I know it, I’m writing.

Bottom line: To write, all I have to do is believe in myself.

Sometimes it’s easier said than done.

How about you? How do you believe in yourself?

8 comments on “Believe In Yourself

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I just don’t think too much about believing in myself as much as possible. I just write anyway even if it might end up being a lot silliness. And if it’s silly, hopefully it makes me laugh so my day is brightened a bit.

    Now you’ve got me thinking about my own self-confidence. I think I need to go write something ridiculous. Blogging can be a great outlet for that.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    • lbdiamond says:

      I wish I could just write whatever comes to mind! I used to be able too, you know, before I got all caught up in querying and editing and critiquing, etc. Perhaps all the “rules” have got me confused, lol!

  2. E.Arroyo says:

    I don’t know. I just keep writing, doing the best I can. Take it in stride. Scene by scene. I know I’m a mess during submissions. My productivity level drops. I know not to look at reviews for my published work. I just try to keep a positive mindset. I’m going to write anyway, regardless of what people think. lol

  3. IB says:

    I’m probably am not the best person to write this considering I’ve kind of been back and forth on writing (I’m getting back into the swing of things soon).

    However, I find that I’m the least motivated when I feel like there’s nothing that can come out of my story, whether it’s my characters or the way the plot’s going. It just feels like an awful mess trying to get who these characters are and how to make them likable (or at least enough to make people sympathize with them to some degree).

    Usually, though, I get back when I remember the reason why I started writing about a certain character or idea in the first place–they’re worth telling because they reflect some struggle that speaks out. And to write allows the idea to be heard, and knowing that I need to make the idea shine in the best way it can helps me get back. Not always, but 99% of the time it sure does!

  4. dolorah says:

    Sometimes I have to take a break and write something else. I love writing short stories because it takes so little word count to complete a project. And then, there is the editing and re-writing . . which causes me to move on to another project. *signs* endless cycle.

Leave a Reply

