Lessons from a Book Signing


Last Monday, I posted over at YAtopia. I thought I’d reprise the post here today in case you missed it. 😉

This past Saturday I had the opportunity to meet writer pal, Amie Borst, FACE TO FACE at one of her book signings for her debut novel, Cinderskella. Amie did a great job introducing her book, the story of how it came to be, and she even did voices for each character when she read the first chapter!

After the signing (I got an autographed copy!), we had the chance to chat. It’s no surprise that the publishing industry is fraught with rejection, but what we both agreed on was how important it is for writers and authors to band together. Sure, lots of writers and authors connect via social media and those relationships are invaluable, but meeting in person brings a whole new (and super awesome) aspect to the writing life. I mean, we get to know folks via their profiles, what they post on Twitter, FB, blogs, etc, but the spontaneous in vivo interaction isn’t there. When we meet in person, we get to “SQUEE!”, hug, chit chat, commiserate, and be real. It’s priceless.

What’s more? WE ALSO GET TO INTERACT WITH READERS! Seriously, how awesome is that?

I have to say, Amie inspired me that day. She showed me how important it is to get out there and be visible. She offered positive, encouraging support that renewed my conviction to continue writing. And she reminded me of the real reason I write: to share stories with others.

So, whether you are a writer or a reader, what’s your experience with book signings? Have you been? What’s your favorite part? What do you take away from interacting with the author?

photo copy

3 comments on “Lessons from a Book Signing

  1. leandrajwallace says:

    I love getting to go to signings! There aren’t a whole lot in my area, but when there are- I’m there! =) The last one was Kate DiCamillo in Indianapolis. She was amazing!

  2. How exciting! I love Amie & her daughter. Thrilled you had such an awesome experience.

  3. I’m not one to get my book signed — I was taught young “NEVER write in a book” — but I’d love to meet and talk to the author.

    I’m glad you had fun at the signing!

Leave a Reply

