The Vanished Knight by M. Gerrick


TheVanishedNight-banner

 

Welcome, Misha! Congrats on your new release. Sounds like a FAB story and I can’t wait to read it. 

 

Let’s jump right in to the interview, shall we? When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

It was never a thing of wanting to be a writer for me. I just wanted to write a story, after creating stories since before I could read. And then when I realized I was good at it, I wanted to publish the stories. So being a writer has pretty much was part of who I was from the beginning.

Sounds like you’re a natural. Tell us about how you developed your goal of making $7500 a month in royalties.

You’re going to laugh, but the $7500 goal is actually completely random. It was going to be $700 to rival my day-job salary, but then I thought it was uneven. So I wanted to change it to $1000, but it looked too easy. So I kept going up and up until the goal scared the crap out of me, and that’s where I stopped. 

I gave myself five years in which to do it, because I didn’t want the goal to be a long-term thing that I’d get to one day. 

Best of luck with that! I’ve got my fingers crossed for you. Switching gears a little bit: What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I always rough draft in pen. And the pen must always be v-tipped with black ink. Nowadays I have a fountain pen that I used only for my writing activities. 

Writing by hand is a great technique. I’m a lefty and tend to get ink all over my hand, lol! Do you have a routine that you use to get into the right frame of mind to write?

Not really. I pretty much put on one of my playlists that I create for each WiP I write, open a note-book or document and get going.

Playlists are super important! Where do you get your ideas or inspiration for your characters?

Wish I could tell you. Usually I either have a character appear in my head, or I dream (literally) a concept/character/scene. This basically tells me it’s my subconscious putting stuff together, but only rarely can I tell you exactly where the stuff comes from. 

A few things I do recognize: Chronicles of Narnia, Assassin’s Creed, a Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’hoole poster and Doc Holiday from the movie Tombstone.

But those are for The Vanished Knight and three WiPs. I have about seventeen more ideas where I literally have no clue.  

Loved Chronicles of Narnia. Any other books that have most influenced your life?

Definitely the Bible. Other books have had an influence on my life, but I can’t really say how.

Awesome!

Ok, another subject change: What do you think makes a good story?

Ooh… tricky… Great characterization, high stakes and a satisfying ending. 

How did you come up for the idea for your book?

I was reading Chronicles of Narnia a second time ahead of (I think) Prince Caspian coming out in the movies. One of my main characters marched into my head and demanded I write the story. Gradually, the idea unfolded and I realized that it’d turn into a series. But that’s how The Vanished Knight was born.

Characters can be pretty persistent! What tip would you give writers who want to get published?

If you know your story is good, don’t give up on finding a home for it. All the rejections you get only means that the person you queried wasn’t right for your book. 

 

Fun random questions: 

What’s your favorite holiday?

Christmas. It’s when my family comes together for about a week.

What’s your favorite food?

It changes from time to time. At the moment it’s haloumi with a sweet chilli sauce to mellow the saltiness.

What’s your favorite animal?

Can’t really say I have one. Wolves, probably, but I also adore dogs and cats. 

Coffee or tea?

Rooibos tea. Can’t stand the normal stuff.

Cake or pie?

Cake. Hands down. 

I really like frosting, lol!

Well, I’ve had a blast chatting with you today, Misha. Thanks again for stopping by and best of luck with your book!

 

EDIT: Image removed
 

 

Blurb

Since the death of her parents, Callan Blair has been shunted from one foster family to another, her dangerous secret forcing the move each time. Her latest foster family quickly ships her off to an exclusive boarding school in the Cumbrian countryside. While her foster-brother James makes it his mission to get Callan expelled, a nearby ancient castle holds the secret doorway to another land…

When Callan is forced through the doorway, she finds herself in the magical continent of Tardith, where she’s shocked to learn her schoolmates Gawain and Darrion are respected soldiers in service to the king of Nordaine, one of Tardith’s realms. More than that, the two are potential heirs to the Black Knight—Nordaine’s crown prince.

But when the Black Knight fails to return from a mysterious trip, the realm teeters on the brink of war. Darrion and Gawain set out to find him, while Callan discovers there is more to her family history than she thought. The elves are claiming she is their princess.

Now with Darrion growing ever more antagonistic and her friendship with Gawain blossoming, Callan must decide whether to stay in Nordaine—where her secret grows ever more threatening—or go to the elves and uncover the truth about her family before war sets the realms afire.

 

Bio

M. Gerrick (AKA Misha Gericke) has basically created stories since before she could write. Many of those stories grew up with her and can be seen in her current projects.

She lives close to Cape Town, with a view over False Bay and Table Mountain.

If you’d like to contact her, feel free to mail her at warofsixcrowns(AT)gmail(DOT)com, Circle her on Google Plus or follow her on Twitter. If you’d like to see her writer-side (beware, it’s pretty insane), please feel free to check out her blog.

6 comments on “The Vanished Knight by M. Gerrick

  1. Thanks so much for letting me visit today! X

  2. salarsen says:

    Loved getting to know Misha better. She’s really ambitious with your monetary goal. I’m sure she’ll make it!

  3. Arlee Bird says:

    I think it’s great that you’ve set writing/business goals, Misha. I think not having specific figures in mind and a realistic view on achieving them is the one of the biggest reasons why businesses fail. Keep at it and I think you’ll reach your stated goal.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  4. Thanks Sherri and Lee! I hope you’re right. 😀

  5. S.P.Bowers says:

    Oooo, I want a fountain pen someday. Longing sigh.

  6. Sara it’s definitely worth the investment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

