Mental Health Monday–Periodic Reassessment


Anachron Press is hosting a pre-order special to the first 50 folks who pre-order the URBAN OCCULT anthology. Pre-order now and get a copy of Day of Demons for FREE! My story, City of Lights and Stone is in the Day of Demons anthology. 😉

Here are the deets:

Urban Occult Limited Pre-Order

Limited to 50.

Behind urban life, weird and horrific things fester. 

The whispers and chills of things long gone… the promise of power from the darkness… the seduction of those that lie in the shadows… the occult is all around us: in town houses, in mansions, and in your very own street.

Editor Colin F. Barnes collected together fifteen stories by a cast of critically acclaimed authors from around the globe who look into the stygian gloom, explore the dark corners of our houses, and peer into the abyss of human temptation.

Featuring stories by: Gary McMahon, Ren Warom, Gary Fry, Mark West, K.T. Davies, Nerine Dorman, Alan Baxter, Adam Millard, Julie Travis, Jason Andrew, James Brogden, A.A Garrison, Jennifer Williams, Sarah Anne Langton, and Chris Barnham.

Special Pre-Order Edition Limited to 50.

This pre-order edition means you will get the book at least a week to two weeks ahead of general release and:

A FREE ebook version (for any eReader)

and A FREE ebook of Day of Demons. (eBooks will be emailed to you on the 4th of March).

Just £9.99 (+£2.99 shipping anywhere in the world).

Pre-Order here: http://www.anachronpress.com/product/anthologies/urban-occult-limited-pre-order/

UrbanOccultEbook-Lores

* * * * * * * * * *

Time is money and us spread-too-thin multi-taskers have to spend it wisely.

For me, I spend around 50 hours a week doing day job stuff, and sometimes work weekends (those 12 day stretches really exhaust me!).

That leaves nights and weekends for writerly stuff. Encompassed in that time is blogging, visiting blogs, social media-ing, marketing, reading, reviewing, critting, writing, and editing. I tend to reserve reading and critting for weeknight stuff and writing and blogging for weekends, when I’m fresher.

Note the placement of each item.

It’s quite scary that writing and editing are last.

I’m a writer who writes after everything else is done. Shouldn’t that be the other way around?

Gosh, admitting this makes me sad.

When I first started writing, that’s where most of my time went. Sure, I’d spend some time on forums (like QueryTracker), but for the most part, my brain was hyperfocused on writing and that’s what I did.

With time came critting.

Then I started this blog.

Then I joined Facebook and Twitter.

Marketing came after New Pride and Shifting Pride were published.

With each added item, writing got shoved further down the list.

I’ve been feeling the pain about this for a while, but now it’s time to admit I need to do something.

I need to reassess where I’m at.

My goal is to incorporate more writing and editing into my routine. I will continue blogging, but may do only two posts a week. There will be the odd week with the same M-W-F routine, based on previously scheduled posts. 😉

I’m getting back to basics.

What about you guys? Do you engage in periodic reassessment? What have you learned by checking in with your routine every so often?

7 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Periodic Reassessment

  1. That’s why my focus is on blogging with just a little Twitter and Goodreads. It’s easy to become overwhelmed.

  2. I think it’s easy to become scattered, and I check in with myself and revise my schedule as needed. I remind myself of what my priorities are and where I need to focus. Some days it works better than others. 🙂

  3. Linda Gray says:

    Kudos to you, Laura! It’s so easy to have all your time sucked away by social media, because the media is fun, challenging, offers fantastic connections with others, and is downright addictive in some ways. Refocusing when you’re stretched too thin is essential to sanity, right? (That’s not a rhetorical question–I figure you have an actual, medically-established answer! :)) )

  4. Laura Eno says:

    I hear ya! I’m turned around as well and need to make writing my focus again.
    That book looks awesome!

  5. I hate to spread myself too thin because then nothing is every well done. Scary book.

  6. Leigh Moore says:

    Hey, that’s just a fact of the writing life, I think. I’ve had to cut back to blogging once a week, and if I do more, it’s the ready-made promo piece for a writer-friend. That’s OK! It’s like you’ve titled this “mental health.” Best of luck with the new books! Demons = scary! :o) ❤

  7. Lydia Kang says:

    I went down to twice a week blogging too. Blogging really is very time consuming, as much as I love it.

Leave a Reply

