Flake-out Friday–Interview with Colin F. Barnes, Owner of Anachron Press


Hey gang!

On Tuesday, I got to share some fun info on Colin’s cyberpunk/horror/exorcistesque novel, THE TECHXORCIST. Today, Colin himself is here to answer questions on how he took the plunge into publishing.

HE STARTED HIS OWN PUBLISHING COMPANY, FOLKS! I’m incredibly impressed with Colin, his drive, and his work.

Let’s give him a warm welcome!

Hi Colin!

I’ve been so impressed by how you’ve put together your publishing business. How did Anachron Press come to be?

Thank you for the kind words, Laura. Anachron Press come about as a means to publish an anthology of stories known as ‘City of Hell Chronicles’. It was a combined project between me and 7 of my writer friends. As it came together it made sense to create a publishing name to put it out, and then I got the bug and carried on with other titles.

How did you come to be involved in publishing?

I’ve been a writer for about 15 years on and off, and between those times I’ve had a number of businesses and took a number of publishing courses, and with publishing City of Hell Chronicles it seemed like something I’d enjoy doing.

What made you choose to open your own press?

Probably a bit of ego and a sense of adventure. I’ve got nothing against traditional publishing houses or other small presses and I still submit my work to them, but there’s a different range of skills needed for publishing, and I wanted to make my work and bring great fiction to the world.

I can’t imagine the learning curve necessary to develop all the skills required to run a press—taking submissions, developing ideas, editing, developing cover art, formatting, marketing, etc. What’s been the most challenging part?

Apart from scheduling and organising the work, I think the hardest part is marketing. Getting noticed amongst the thousands of other small presses (and larger presses) is very difficult without spending a lot of money. So at the moment it’s a case of taking baby steps and slowly increasing my catalogue and hopefully fan-base.

I was first introduced to your work when City of Hell came out. I particularly love how all the stories in that anthology follow the same theme. Each writer brings their own flare and each story builds on the central idea. It was really fascinating seeing how all the pieces went together. Where did the idea come from?

I’ve always been off H.P Lovecraft and his Cthulhu mythos. I love how it’s grown in size as other authors have written in that world, adding to it their stories, and I wanted to do something similar. I wanted to have my own pantheon of gods and myths to feature in stories. I have many more plans for the City of Hell Chronicles world and will hopefully be seeing more titles in that universe in 2013.

Your cover art is FAB! I know you work with an artist—how does the creative process go for you guys?

It’s true I have a couple of artists I work with. In the main I do the covers myself, but some of them are collaborative. I studied Graphic Design at college so this is an area I really enjoy working in. If I’m not doing the cover myself, then the process is I usually come up with the layout, the typography and the art-style, then I’ll go to one of my artists to create an image for the illustration if I can’t find something suitable from a stock photo library.

You are developing a new Pulp Line of fiction. What do you like about Pulp Fiction? How can people get involved?

Pulp fiction is all about fun. It’s that simple. It’s silly over-the-top stories with larger-than-life characters going on adventures or investigating dangerous criminals. It’s the stuff I read as a kid and still love today, and that’s what I’m doing it now; I want to bring it back and give pulp stories a new platform so that readers new to it can discover it and have as much fun as I’ve had reading it. People can get involved in two ways:

1. Buy the books! 🙂

2. Submit a story. Full details are here: http://www.anachronpress.com/open-submissions-for-pulp-line/

You’ve done some excellent work, Colin. I’m a forever fan, always looking forward to the next piece of work you pub. Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you Laura, your support is much appreciated, and I hope to continue publishing stories that you enjoy reading. And thanks for having me on your blog again.

Remember to check out Colin’s newest work, The Techxorcist. I know I am! Click here to go to Anachron Press!

6 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Interview with Colin F. Barnes, Owner of Anachron Press

  1. Wow! I’m awed by Colin’s drive and ambition. Great interview!

  2. Karen Lange says:

    Thanks for the intro to Colin! It’s great to hear about his journey.

  3. It is really cool to meet someone who has created his own press. Thanks for the introduction, Laura.

  4. kendallgrey says:

    Colin, I admire your drive. Best of luck with Anachron. The Pulp line covers are amazing, btw! Serioulsy love them. 🙂

  5. Thank you for the interview, Laura. It’s a pleasure to be a guest on your blog twice now 🙂 And thanks to everyone for your kind words.

  6. Nas Dean says:

    Thanks for the introduction, Laura. It’s fantastic meeting someone who launched his own press!

    Congratulations Colin!

Leave a Reply

