Flake-out Friday–NEW PRIDE Excerpt, Part Two


Today is the last day to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway of BLOOD, SHE READ by Sara Hubbard and NEW PRIDE, by *me*. Click HERE to enter. Good luck and THANKS!!

Last week, Sara Hubbard hosted me and we got a first glimpse at a NEW PRIDE excerpt. Today, I’d like to share another excerpt.

Hope you like it!

I heard the falls long before we arrived at its base.

The air was moist and the scent of succulent plant life mixed with damp earth to tickle my nose. Metallic undertones settled on my tongue. The water was fresh and clean. Too bad Molly and I weren’t alone. It would be awesome to come back during the day and go skinny-dipping, then lay on the mossy rocks to dry in the sun. Kind of like when she had sunbathed when I first saw her.

Apparently, the guys had the same idea as me, but didn’t care that they weren’t alone. They kicked off their shoes and whipped off their shirts and jeans. The only other girl with us, Nina, joined them without reservation.

One after the other, they ran into the natural pool, screeching and yipping at the shock of cold water against their skin protected only by underwear.

Molly peeled herself away from me. “You coming?” She gave me a coy smile and tugged the straps of her dress down her arms.

My heart quickened. I licked my lips. “Er…”

“You’re not afraid of the water, are you?” She arched her right brow, already unfastening the buttons on the front of her sundress. Her white bra all but glowed in the moonlight.

I stepped closer to her, lightly covering her hands with mine. She stared up at me, brown eyes wide with…anticipation. A slow smile worked at my mouth. I unbuttoned the remaining buttons, stopping at her waist. Molly shifted her shoulders and her dress fell to the ground. My gaze traced down her belly, to her legs, and finally to her feet.

And back up again.

Molly bit her bottom lip. Her cheeks darkened and she folded her arms across her chest.

I took her hands in mine and kissed her knuckles. “You’re beautiful.”

She ducked her head and looked up at me through her bangs.

My belly tingled, igniting a fire deep inside. Unable to stop myself, I ran my fingers through her curly hair, letting them come to rest on the nape of her neck.

She stood on her tiptoes so our mouths were millimeters apart. “And you’re handsome,” she whispered.

I held my breath. I wanted to kiss her so bad, but I didn’t want to ruin the moment if she didn’t feel the same way.

8 comments on “Flake-out Friday–NEW PRIDE Excerpt, Part Two

  1. Great excerpt! Have a terrific weekend.

  2. Sheri Larsen says:

    Ooh, I love your excerpt. I’m fanning myself now. 🙂 So happy for you, Laura!

  3. Linda Gray says:

    whoa, hot! Nice work, Laura!

  4. They needed less clothing. The underwear thing is so unnecessary.

  5. Catherine Johnson says:

    ooh love this! Why have I forgotten to buy this already? Soon to be remedied :0)

  6. Shelly says:

    What an excerpt! Great writing~

Leave a Reply

