Flake-out Friday: “You’d Better Redneckanize!”


TLC recently launched the series, “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.”

When I first saw the commercial for it, I rolled my eyes in disgust. Really? REALLY??? THIS is what we’re choosing for television???

On the other hand, I have to admit the girl gained popularity and a following from her time on Toddlers and Tiaras (and her mom is an Extreme Couponer). As much as it pains me, there’s good publicity there and people are eating it up!

I’m wondering what us writers/authors can extrapolate from this phenomenon of combining shock value, voyeuristic fanaticism, and the need to watch train wrecks into a marketing marvel, considering authors have to figure out how to make themselves stand out from the pack in order to garner sales.

What say you, friends? Any ideas???

(pic from huffington post)

(pic from Futurama meme site)

7 comments on “Flake-out Friday: “You’d Better Redneckanize!”

  1. kendallgrey says:

    Engaging in some “authors behaving badly” antics is starting to sound more and more appealing. Plus, I just enjoy behaving badly. 🙂

  2. salarsen says:

    I think for most people, watching someone else’s train wreck makes their own seem less of a disaster. Escapism, I’d say. It might sound sad, but I think true.

  3. roguemutt says:

    When was it they forgot TLC meant “The Learning Channel”? They ought to just change it to the Freak Network because that’s all they seem to show anymore. It’s too bad they didn’t have these shows in the 80s because my dad was an Extreme Couponer, much to everyone’s chagrin. My mom’s pantry is probably still full of shit he bought because it was really cheap with coupons. Of course buying things no one wants just because they’re cheap isn’t a great way to shop.

  4. Linda Gray says:

    I say hold to your values and your integrity! Any publicity is better than no publicity? I know some believe it, but I don’t. We hopefully do what we do out of love for our journey and product.

  5. It’s the new Jersey Shore for sure.

  6. Krispy says:

    I’m curious, but I’m kind of scared to watch this…

  7. J E Fritz says:

    “I don’t want to live on this planet anymore” pretty much covers how I feel. The world ends not with a bang, but a reality show.

Leave a Reply

