Writer Wednesday–Of Genres


For the most part, I write YA–whether it be paranormal, horror, dystopian–and MG. For short stories, I write adult horror and post-apocalyptic. (Different genres, for sure, but still in a simliar vein, don’t you think?)

Here’s the twist:

My pubber, Etopia Press, has several smexy-type authors who write adult romance, erotica, and BDSM. In getting to know these fab peeps, I’ve also had some exposure to their writing world. (I even wrote a smexy short! *blushes*)

IF, and I say IF, the short has any chance of seeing the light of day, my next task comes in the form of figuring out how it fits the rest of what I write.

I mean, clearly it dosen’t, so, I have to decide if I want to pursue this tangent…or not.

One idea is to use a pen name. Cool. But does that mean I start a whole new “platform” for my “new” self? Or should I still use the pen name and be absolutely open about it, so I can get “two birds with one stone?”

I bring this up not only for advice (cause I don’t want to burden all y’all with that responsibility), but because I bet it’s something a lot of writers face, especially since the boom of epubbing and *gasp* Fifty Shades of Gray. 😉

So, writers, if you you write radically different genres, how do you handle the publicity side of things???

16 comments on “Writer Wednesday–Of Genres

  1. I don’t. BUT. I know someone who does. Talli Roland/Marsha Moore. I think she would be the best person to get advice from on this subject.

  2. E.Arroyo says:

    I’d probably use a pen name and keep the same platform. It’s really so people know when you are writing with this name it’s a different genre. I think that would work.

  3. kendallgrey says:

    Congrats on writing a smexy short! YAY, you! How exciting. Re: how to market, I wonder the same things because I’m all over the place with my genres. I already use a pen name, so creating a third “me” would be really difficult to juggle, unless I kept the 3rd name close to “Kendall Grey.” Like maybe K. Grey or something like that? No idea. When you figure out what works, let me know! 😉

  4. roguemutt says:

    It always seems kind of silly to write under a pen name and then tell people that pen name. Especially when it’s on the cover like “Nora Roberts Writing as JD Robb” So um…what’s the point?

  5. No, I’m not into the pen name thing. I plan on writing in a lot of different genres and will use my real name because I want people to know I wrote it lol Plus I think it shows really good diversity, why do you want to be ashamed of that?

  6. Addy Rae says:

    If you’re writing YA and MG primarily, you should probably keep in mind the appropriateness of everything under that name to young readers. If they like you, they will look you up to search for other books by you, and if your other works are not appropriate to their age, this could be a problem and make both readers and parents unhappy. Your name is a brand, promising a certain type of book. If you are writing, say, romances and then a random western it isn’t really a big deal. You’re not jumping from an underage audience to an adult audience then, but with YA and MG to erotic…

  7. Linda Gray says:

    I’ve got to agree with Addy Rae. There’s an emotionally-weighted conflict in readership targets between your MG and smexy readers, and it could bite you if you make it known you’re the author of both types of books. I’d stick with a pen name, completely separate publicity, and have fun writing both!

  8. I vote to use a pen name for the smexy stuff. That way when young fans go googling what else you wrote, they won’t stumble upon it. But I’m speaking totally as a mom, not as a fellow writer. I can understand what a frustration it would be to create a whole new following with a whole new name. However, it’s a different target audience, so in the long run, it makes more sense. That way your smexy audience isn’t growing disappointed of the lack of smex when they read the YA books.

  9. Jessica Burde says:

    I’ve tied it all together by audience. While my genres vary, and not all of my stuff is even fiction, I most of it is going to appeal to geeks. So I market to geeks and in areas where geeks congregate.

    I have another set of righting that focuses on non-fic advise about alternative relationships. I market that under a brand (PolyPractically, by Jessica Burde). So while name is associated with all of my writing, I divide my marketing by audience and then pick a ‘brand’ for each audience. My poly audience looks for ‘Poly Practically’, my (currently tiny) geek audience looks for ‘Jessica Burde’,

    In your situation, I’d suggest you take wander over to Scarleteen. It’s a website for young adults and teenagers who are interested in learning about sexuality in a safe and age appropriate environment. See how they handle things and think about how it might fit in with your usual genres. While you can’t write full on erotica for a YA market, you can write ‘age appropriate’ smexy, and frankly the YA market could seriously benefit from HEALTHY depictions of adult relationships. And if they can be YA tackling issues of abuse, rape, and other horrid shit (which there is), why can’t there be YA tackling a healthy sexuality?

  10. Leigh Moore says:

    shew. That’s a hard question–and I’ve wondered about it myself for other writers who write vastly different books. I guess you just target your marketing efforts yes? Which book blogs you visit, etc.?

    Just a guess. But I’d love to know what you end up doing! :o) ❤

  11. lbdiamond says:

    I agree with youse guys. I think separating my YA self from other adult genres is KEY. Pen name it is! 🙂

  12. Hi, Laura. I don’t have an answer for you, but I’m very curious as to the answer to this myself. I currently write horror, but would eventually like to write other things. I’ll have to check back and see what the overwhelming responses are.

    -Jimmy

  13. Lydia K says:

    If it’s romance or erotica, I’d use a pen name. 🙂

  14. Donna Hole says:

    I also enjoy writing erotica – I’d never heard of “smexy” but I like the sound of it. Most of my writing is in mainstream, a little fantasy thrown in. I’ve thought about using a pen name for the erotica – if I decide to submit anything in that area. I haven’t quite got there yet, although my women’s fiction does have sex in it.

    ……..dhole

  15. Building a platform for a pen name sounds like a lot of work. I know Elizabeth S. Craig also writes under the name Riley Adams, but it’s no secret and her blog reflects both names.

Leave a Reply

