Mental Health Monday–#MentalHealthMondayWritingTips


Accurate emotional reactions from characters are CRUCIAL to pull in your reader. On the other hand, an over- or under-reaction jolts your reader out of the story and they just might put your book down.

Working these issues out comes with practice, keen beta readers, crit partners, and skilled editors. There are also several resources and tools out there to help you. I’m sure you’ve heard of The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi and you’ve likely visited their blog, The Bookshelf Muse. And perhaps you’ve read The Writer’s Guide to Psychology by Carolyn Kaufman.

I’ve been posting various mental health topics in an effort to help writers portray their characters accurately too. Now, in addition to my regular Mental Health Monday posts, I will be supplementing mental health writerly tips on Twitter!

My Twitter: http://twitter.com/DiamondLB

Be sure to follow me on Twitter for these little tidbits. (And, I’d be most delighted if y’all would help me out by tweeting this post and retweeting my tweets to spread the word.)

Please use the hashtag: #MentalHealthMondayWritingTips

I’m gonna pay it forward by giving away a copy of The Emotion Thesaurus to one lucky commenter!

Also, please check out Amie Borst’s blog today–she’s hosting a MEGA AWESOME GIVEAWAY!!!! TWENTY-FIVE authors are involved, including yours truly. 😉

Don’t forget to pop over the Lydia Kang’s blog to check out her series, Medical Monday. She’ll be back in late August.

(image found on Goodreads)

12 comments on “Mental Health Monday–#MentalHealthMondayWritingTips

  1. Sarah Fine says:

    This is great! Glad to see you’re doing this, Laura.

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    SWEET!! Going to add this hashtag to my streams to watch. AWESOME!

  3. Linda Gray says:

    Wonderful! I look forward to seeing the tips, and will put you on my Twitter Follow list! I’ve got Carolyn Kaufman’s book. Very useful!

  4. roguemutt says:

    Emotion thesaurus? Weird.

  5. That has got to be the longest hashtag ever 😛 But I’m happy to get the tips, so I won’t complain! 😉

  6. So what you’re sayin’ is that writing is hard. Got it.

  7. E.Arroyo says:

    Awesome idea. Thanks! Ideas: MHtips4writers ?

  8. Lydia K says:

    Ooh, great idea for a Twitter series!

  9. LOL on the hashtag. Thanks for the book mention!

  10. dawnall says:

    Love the Mental Health Monday posts! More than happy to share this news. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

