Flake-out Friday–EDITING


Hey all!

Well, I’m neck deep in edits–EXCITING AND SCARY AND OVERWHELMING ALL AT ONCE!

Because I’ve got a deadline looming, I’ll be taking next week off from blogging.

See you soon and remember, if you have a psych related question for a character, don’t hestiate to ask and I’ll answer it on Mental Health Monday!

A question (or three) before I go:

What is editing like for you? What do you like or dislike? What do you think of the final product?

And, finally, I leave you with some fun writing quotes I found. Click HERE to go to the website. 😉

The simpler you say it, the more eloquent it is. ~ August Wilson

The first draft of anything is shit. ~ Ernest Hemingway

Rereading reveals rubbish and redundance. ~ Duane Alan Hahn

Always avoid alliteration. ~ Author Unknown 

11 comments on “Flake-out Friday–EDITING

  1. Editing is my favorite phase! First draft is the most difficult, which is why i’m so happy I finished last night.
    Now, go met your deadline!

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    Edits can be scary. I just finished up first round edits of TAINTED (Wasteland 3). Keep at it, it’s going to make your story shine! 🙂 Woot!!!! 🙂

  3. Wishing you the best with your edits! I hope they go smoothly.

  4. J E Fritz says:

    I hope you have a productive week! I think editing can be a chore sometimes and a delight other times. Sorry I can’t be more specific but it can be so random for me 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    I’m glad you liked the quotations from Terribly Write. Good luck with the editing!

  6. Lydia K says:

    Good luck on your edits! They were hard for me but also really, really rewarding because the book is so much better now.

  7. May your muse overwhelm you with awesomeness. 🙂 I love editing. It’s the phase where you get to tighten everything up and breathe more life into it.

  8. Stephanie says:

    I love editing. It’s my favorite part of writing, when the work of getting the draft out it done and I have something I can work with. The part I dislike is that I know there will certain parts of the novel I will begin to actively dislike. I know at least a percentage of this is just me, because my crit partners and even my editor will tell me, “that section is fine.” But in all the re-reads I will dread coming to certain sections because I just don’t like them. Not sure how to fix that, because often those sections are necessary.

    Everything else, I love. Good luck with your editing.

  9. Ciara Knight says:

    I love the edits that come back and make me want to cry. I love to tear a book apart and make it better. I know, I’m strange. Good luck with the edits!! Let me know when it is going to be released. I don’t want to miss it.

  10. Leigh Moore says:

    I’m with Hemingway–LOL! 😀 And Wilson also makes a good point. Good luck w/the edits!

  11. Renee Pace says:

    I hate editing because for me I find it hard to end. I write fast so can pound out a 60,000 book in 2 mos but editing it takes me 4-6 – seriously. I have a writing coach who helps me get off my butt and finish these edits.

Leave a Reply

