Flake-out Friday–Writing Pals Come In All Forms…


A couple weeks ago, I got a visitor. They very quietly waited on my front stairs until my cousin noticed them…

…and screamed.

She ran inside and promptly sent me out to talk to the uninvited guest.

So I did.

The guest introduced themselves as a writer. Their pen had run out of ink and they asked to borrow one of mine.

I gladly obliged by sharing an animalistic style pen. ๐Ÿ™‚

“Call me Wolfie.”

28 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Writing Pals Come In All Forms…

  1. Sheri Larsen says:

    That writer would NOT be welcome in my house!! Major YUCK!!

  2. That spider is HUGE! Just like a writer to grab a camera and name the spider. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh I hate creepy crawly things. =)

  4. Oh, that photo makes me want to run screaming as well! Ewwww! But as long as he wasn’t one of the venomous kinds (and he eats roaches) I would let him stay ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Leigh Moore says:

    EEP!!!

    Wait. So you’re saying that’s Charlotte? Hmm… I don’t know about this. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Carol Riggs says:

    Ack! Is that a WOLF spider, and that’s why you named it Wolfie?? (shudder–do an image search on Google for wolf spider if you want to get really creeped out). Yours does look similar to one. I hope you squished that kid. Yuck!

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    Ahhhh. Thanks. I’m going to have NIGHTMARES now!! **shivers**

  8. Vicki Tremper says:

    The above comments are making me LOL! Remember, spiders eat flies and mosquitoes. Anything that eats mosquitoes is welcome in my house, as long as it won’t hurt my kids (except snakes which are NEVER welcome).

  9. ROFL! It’s so nice to meet a fellow writer. I hope your new neighbor is doing well. And staying on his side of the door!

  10. Karen Lange says:

    Well, you know how it is, when you’re out of ink, it is nearly a crisis. Glad you were able to come to the rescue.

  11. Linda Gray says:

    I am on the same page as commenter Vickie Tremper. Don’t mind spiders as long as they’re not deadly, hate flies and especially mosquitoes. I do wish spiders ate snakes, too, then I’d LOVE spiders.

  12. Krispy says:

    Augh, I would have screamed too! I remember seeing this pic on twitter or something. It’s so huge and gross! ;_;

  13. roguemutt says:

    What’s with people posting pictures of huge spiders on their blogs?

  14. Ewwwww. Hate. Spiders. .

  15. Your cousin’s reaction is the same as mine would have been.

    I was once on a backpacking trip with a university class, and we were sitting on a log, eating lunch. The woman next to me looked down then asked me what I thought of spiders. I jumped up screaming. “Guess that answers that question,” was her response. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. J E Fritz says:

    I would have done the same thing. Except less giving it a pen and finding a torch to wave at it in hopes of it going away.

    Close to the same thing.

  17. aparnanairphotography says:

    Hilarious. If she has 8 hands, can she type 8 times as fast?

  18. Wolf spiders are huge. We get them all the time. I usually catch and release.

  19. OMG that is FRIGGIN HUGE. *shudders* They say a spider in the house is good luck. I say whoever ‘they’ are, they’re crazy.

  20. Catherine Johnson says:

    Yikes!!!

  21. Wendy Lu says:

    Oh yuck! I suppose you never know what will come from ’round the corner during a writing session! That is a huge spider, too. I’m normally very hospitable to guests in my house but if it had been me I would NOT have wanted to share my pens with him, writer or not!

    By the way, I’m hosting an awesome blogfest and critique giveaway at The Red Angel Blog from June 22-24 that you should totally come participate in if you’re interested! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you have a great day.

    ~Wendy Lu

  22. Akoss says:

    Oh major yuck!!!
    Although fascinating i would have screamed, jumped over and ran out of the house.

  23. Stephanie says:

    I believe a relative of Wolfie was hanging around the school where I work last week. He was less writerly inclined and more into terrifying small children. Tell Wolfie I said good luck.

  24. What’s he working on, “The Spider and the Mosquito, a Memoir”? Does Wolfie use your computer too? Make sure he’s not bringing his family in. One spider doesn’t eat enough mosquitos and flies to keep anyone from getting bitten, Better they stay outside! Too creepy!!

  25. lola sharp says:

    Wolfie would send me shrieking and running like your cousin. O_0 *shudder*

  26. Gina says:

    I don’t like spiders or any other reptile. They freak me out.

Leave a Reply

