Writer Wednesday–Productivity


Since I started working on the inpatient unit (almost a year now!) in addition to my other roles in the outpatient world, I’ve had less energy, concentration, mojo, motivation, imagination, passion, etc to continue pumping out the wordage on a daily basis.

In the “old days,” I could draft a novel in 2-4 weeks (YIKES, right?). Now, well, now I’m good for a short story (maybe) every six months.

What happened to my die hard committment? What happened to my insatiable NEED to WRITE? What happened to my very existence depending solely on “WHEN DO I GET TO WRITE AGAIN?”

Pffft.

Ahem.

My point being, sometimes one has to write as much or as little as they can. Maintaining a 2000 word a day goal is not realistic for me right now. Most things ebb and flow and fluctuate.

I need to be okay with that.

Alternatively, it also helps to have a push from inspiration from time to time, so I’d like to leave you with some of my favorite writing quotes.

Please share a favorite quote in the comments too!

“There are times when quantity is at least as important as quality in learning an art.”
Lawrence Watt-Evans

“Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.”
E.L. Doctorow

“Write what you care about and understand. Writers should never try to outguess the marketplace in search of a salable idea; the simple truth is that all good books will eventually find a publisher if the writer tries hard enough, and a central secret to writing a good book is to write on that people like you will enjoy.”
Richard North Patterson

17 comments on “Writer Wednesday–Productivity

  1. Sarah Fine says:

    Yes! That’s just life. It’s so difficult when our desires and aspirations don’t match what our schedule allows, but it’s inevitable at least sometimes.

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    You are in the perfect position of having a wonderful job so that you can afford to write. Don’t feel guilty about the hard times. 🙂

  3. Karen Lange says:

    I think whatever you can manage through a busy time is a good thing. It’s better than nothing at all! 🙂

  4. I’m at the same place right now. My mind is mush and I feel blah and guilty about it. Thanks for the inspiration. =)

  5. Sometimes, weeks will pass between writing sessions. Grab the time when you can and don’t worry about the rest. 🙂 You are doing awesome!

  6. Stephanie says:

    I totally know what you’re feeling. I’ve been working full days while a co-worker is out of town the last week and a half. I’ve done nothing writing-related in that time and I’m trying to get over the guilt that entails. Sometimes life has to take precedence over your writing, especially if you don’t have any deadlines set by other people.

  7. The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in, shock-proof, shit detector. This is the writer’s radar and all great writers have had it. — Ernest Hemmingway

    I don’t write every day. I probably won’t write a word on any story until winter. I just am not in the mood. So by virtue of my own laziness and apathy, I give you a pass 🙂 Besides, there are too many good books to read at the moment so I’m using these few months to plow through books I’ve been wanting to enjoy.

  8. kendallgrey says:

    The Doctorow quote is my fave. Love that!

  9. Krispy says:

    Love the quotes, and ah, life. With the new pup in my life, I’m once again struggling to reorganize my time. I don’t even know when I have time to really read much less write! But I do miss it!

    Here’s a quote or two:
    “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” – Ray Bradbury
    “Write drunk. Edit sober.” -Ernest Hemingway

  10. Finding a balance is tough, yet critical. Maybe this will help: http://pinterest.com/pin/55521007876571818/

    I know it’s helped me. 😉

  11. My long-time favorite saying is:
    “Life is a grindstone; it either wears you down or polishes you up.”

    I’m wishing you a LOT of shiny polish (i.e. great writing material / experience) from your over-committed schedule!

  12. I go through not-available-for-writing times, too. Sometimes it just happens like that. Think of all the fodder you’re filing away for future use!

  13. Ciara Knight says:

    You have the right attitude. Take it as it comes. I won’t be able to write until school is back in session, but I do HAVE to work on revisions and edits. Someday, I’d like to take summers off.

  14. Donna Hole says:

    I know what you mean about writing when you can. I come home from my day job and just want to veg out. That won’t get my novel published thogh.

    ……..dhole

  15. Talli Roland says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I think putting unnecessary pressure on yourself can kill your desire to create. Do what you can and enjoy it.

  16. I agree. It’s important we keep writing–however much we can.

  17. Lydia K says:

    I love the Doctorow quote. Boy does that come in handy when I have a lot of revisions to do!

Leave a Reply

