Writer Wednesday–The Novella and Novelette


Gotta say, with the new indie wave and access to eformats, it’s been a lot of fun to see authors come out with novellas and novellettes. Honestly, I never really paid attention to the term “Novelette” until Shelli Johannes pubbed her novelette (the first in THE BREATHLESS series, YAY!), SUFFOCATE.

Another great novelette series is THE CREEPY HOLLOW series by Rachel Morgan.

The stories are shorter, so they tend to be quick reads, there’s still enough room for character development (which is less cramped than in short stories), and they can stand alone, or be part of a series.

I can’t wait for more authors to jump on this bandwagon…in fact, I may try it myself! *brainstorms idea*

What do you think? Do you like novellettes and novellas?

20120601-184937.jpg

18 comments on “Writer Wednesday–The Novella and Novelette

  1. roguemutt says:

    I think in the old days we called “novelettes” short stories. And it depends how much you’re charging. I don’t want to pay $5 for a short story.

  2. aparnanairphotography says:

    I like the concept. Sometimes with my schedule, a whole novel is too much to commit to, and a short novel might just be the perfect fix in those instances.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I may try novellas at some point. I have 6 plotted but they follow the trilogy that I’ve written the first book of. I have to get that trilogy published first and then see if the publisher will take the novellas (or let me publish them).

  4. If I want a small story arc, I prefer a novelette. If I’m bored and am looking for long-term entertainment, I want a novel/series. I’m a single guy that doesn’t do all that much outdoors so I read a lot of books. On weekends, after all the housework and stuff is done, it’s pretty common to see me sit on the reading chair in the front room of my one-bedroom apartment with the screen door open to let the air from outside in and to just read for six-hours.

  5. Linda Gray says:

    I’m not familiar with novelettes. Are you saying they’re shorter than novellas but longer than short stories? Interesting.

  6. I’m usually interested if it’s an accompaniment to a larger work. But it’s something to think about.

  7. Thank you so much for mentioning my series here 🙂

  8. I really love writing novelettes. Sometimes a short story just needs to be longer but not as long as a novel either. I enjoy reading them too.

    Cherie Reich – Author

  9. shelli says:

    short story tends to be under 8000 words, novelettes 8-15000 and novellas 15000 to 40000 – usually they are between 99 and 1.99 🙂

    Thanks Laura!

  10. kendallgrey says:

    Love the cover for Suffocate. My attention span is so short, maybe I should try novellas and novelletes. Hmm…

  11. Krispy says:

    The covers for these look great! Question, what exactly is the difference between a novella and a novelette? Is the second one longer?

    I do like the rise in the use of novellas to fill in plot or character details in bigger stories. Fun stuff!

  12. I think these short story forms are terrific! And a wonderful way to explore ideas between novels or just for fun. I plan to in the future…

  13. I’ve never read one but these look interesting!

  14. Lydia K says:

    I’m getting used to the idea. I may write one, if I can think of a good mini plot!

  15. Vicki Tremper says:

    I like writing them, but I only like reading them as part of a series if I’m into the series. (If that makes any sense.) I have Rachel’s Creepy Hollow and hope to read it soon.

  16. Yes, I love them. Publishers are also starting to realise the market in them as well.

  17. Kara says:

    I think it’s great if an author can write a story to the length they feel it needs to be. More options is good. I know I’ve read some novels that would have been better if they’d been 20,000 words shorter.

  18. Some of my favorite Stephen King reads are hid novellas and short stories. I am definitely a fan!

Leave a Reply

