Flake-out Friday–Flicking Out


Photo credit

Today is the day. The day that The Hunger Games debuts in theaters.

There’s been a LOT of marketing to get everybody salivating.

I’m conflicted.

I LOVED the book. LOVED. The. Book.

BUT, I found the premise so disturbing (WHO sends their kids to fight to the death???), I have yet to read the rest of the trilogy. They’ve been sitting on my bookshelf since last summer.

I’m not ready to read on yet.

I’m not sure I’m ready to see the movie.

I have a feeling it’ll be a good one, though.

So, I should just bite the bullet and go see it, right?

BTW, have your learned your Hunger Games name?

Check it out: Hunger Names

I’m Lovage Amberdeen. I was killed in the 6th Hunger Games by loving too deeply. LOL!

 Oh, and I totally want these!!!! Hunger Games Capitol Colours Nail Polish!!!!!!:

Photo credit

Especially this one (Fire Glitter!!!!!!):

Photo credit

14 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Flicking Out

  1. Erin Danzer says:

    Love the nail color!
    I’m excited for this movie. I say bite the bullet and see it. You might be surprised! 🙂

  2. Love HG, you should def see the film!

  3. Sheri Larsen says:

    Salivating….yup!

    Funny, my entire post today is about Hunger Names. Oh, but I especially enjoyed discover my DEMISE. 😀

  4. roguemutt says:

    I thought the first book was OK. It seems though all my women “friends” online all LOVE it though. I wonder why that is?

  5. I must be in a hole, I haven’t read them yet. I want to read the books first before I see the movie.

    SInce you have read the first book, why not see the movie… Get in on all the excitement this weekend.

  6. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t read the books yet. But I am going to the movie. I’m actually looking forward to going to a book-based movie with no expectations.

  7. Planning an outing with my critique group around this book. Excited. My HG name: Seemohn Gristlewhist. I was killed in the 59th Hunger Games by eating improperly prepared food. 🙂

  8. landragraf says:

    Go see the movie. You already seemed pre-dispositioned to love it. So don’t sit and wait. Go! Now!

    Lol!

    The Hunger Names thingie was fun. Thanx!

  9. Carol Riggs says:

    I read the first 2 books–and yes, the core conflict IS disturbing, as well as violent. I never read the 3rd book, however. I heard the ending was disappointing, and I’m not about to plow through all that gore to get to a non-satisfying ending!

    I’m conflicted about the movie. The previews look pretty good, except I can’t get into the actress playing Katniss; she speaks like she has marbles in her mouth, and she’s not quite convincing to me (like where she volunteers for the games instead of Prim…bleh).

  10. I’m sure the books are fantastic and the movie will be too. I’m totally meh on this. YA is not my thing, and all the hype makes me even less interested. I’m gonna pass on both.

  11. Every post I’ve seen today from someone who saw it last night loved it.

  12. Krispy says:

    I actually have some reservations about the movie, but I’ve only heard good things from people coming out of it. I’ll probably see it this weekend. I think since you read the first book, you’ll be fine/prepared for the movie. 🙂

    I loved aspects of Catching Fire, but I ended up not really liking Mockingjay. 😛 The first book is still the most solid / best one in the trilogy, I think.

  13. Go see it! It won’t spoil the rest of the series, and you’ve read the book already. Plus, I’ve found that I usually imagine things as being much more gory and disturbing than they actually end up looking on-screen.

  14. Old Kitty says:

    There’s nail polish ala hunger games?!?!?! Yes please!!! Take care
    x

Leave a Reply

