Flake-out Friday–The Magic Is In the Details


It’s important to weave details throughout your novel. But man, it’s way easier said than done.

That’s what makes reading other authors’ work so important.

A fine example is Peter Abrahams Down the Rabbit Hole. It’s a middle grade mystery but reads like any good, solid, intricate masterpiece that I can think of. Abrahams’ talent lies particularly in the art of sprinkling his plot with details that keep the reader reading.

Seriously, it’s a brilliant read.

What novels have you read that have fine tuned detail weaving?

10 comments on “Flake-out Friday–The Magic Is In the Details

  1. Vicki Tremper says:

    I’ve added this to my TBR list since I’m currently reading/writing MG. Detail weaving is especially important for mysteries.

  2. Sheri Larsen says:

    Ooh, and middle grade. Adding to my list. Thanks!!

    I’d say sprinkling is my current struggle. 😀

  3. lenny says:

    hi dr laura! that book is on my wanna read list. i like stuff that has just enough details but not so much that i get away from the story.
    …hugs from lenny

  4. Ciara Knight says:

    Great recommendation. I’m adding to my TBR pile.

  5. Mmm. Haven’t read that one. Yet. 🙂

  6. Stephanie says:

    Might have to check this one out. As for ones that are excellent at the detail-weaving, Harry Potter. Seriously, the woman is brilliant at the details. Tiny little things you overlook in earlier books suddenly become huge foreshadowing bombs when you read the later books. Every read is a new experience.

  7. Lydia K says:

    I was also going to say Harry Potter, but I’m hitting my afternoon slump so I can’t think of any other ones right now!

  8. Krispy says:

    Detail-weaving is so hard but makes story so much better! I have to agree with the comment above about Harry Potter. Details as unobtrusive clues like no one’s business!

  9. Donna Hole says:

    I just finished reading Dog Of The North by Tim Stretton, and that was one of the things that was so exciting about the novel. By the last few chapters I was riveted to the story plot hoping I was right in my assessment of the soon to come “revelation”. The major details were so expertly woven, and the amount of author/reader trust by the end of the story was so gripping I’m sure I’ll be reading more of this author’s work.

    Oh, and congrats on the upcoming publication. I meant to stop by a couple days ago and got distracted.

    ……….dhole

  10. Misha says:

    Hahaha since Harry Potter was taken so many times, I’ll go with another phenomenon and say the Hunger Games. It worked in just enough detail to keep me grounded in the story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

