Flake-out Friday–The Man Who Cried


 

I got this movie on Netflix a few months ago and promptly downloaded the soundtrack after viewing it. 

I listened to this song on repeat for hours while writing. For realz. I love its somber, bittersweet tone.

Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzl7mxpztLE

What’s your favorite music to write to?

12 comments on “Flake-out Friday–The Man Who Cried

  1. Sheri Larsen says:

    It depends on my mood or what scene I’m intending to write. Sometimes I listen to rock, while other times to classical — Josh Grobin!! BTW – can’t view the video. I’m so curious that I’m skipping over to YouTube.

  2. Akoss says:

    What I listen to depends on the wip I’m working on. I do tend to listen to classical music or Enya or just plain old instrumentals when I’m revising though.

  3. Lynn Rush says:

    The video isn’t working right now, but I can still answer the question. I love listening to Skillet, Red, Decyfer Down, and now Disciple (that’s relatively new) while I write and edit.

    🙂 Happy Friday!

  4. LydiaK says:

    Crap, it’s not working. But I’ll youtube it soon so i can listen. I’m always looking for new good music to write to!

  5. Indigo says:

    I have a chapbook of song lyrics for each book I’m working on. Since I have huge catalog of songs I used to hear (hearing memory), I can usually come up with songs that apply to one book but won’t even begin to work for another.
    I’ll find the song, read over the lyrics and it plays in my head producing the mood.

    One song that is a definite for evoking sadness is Kansas “Dust in The Wind.” This song has some history for me… Or Jane Siberry’s “It Can’t Rain All The Time.”

    For Love – Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing.” Something about loving someone so deeply you’re afraid of missing a single moment, just tears at my heart. (Hugs)Indigo

  6. The video has been removed by the user. I think you may need to go and find another copy of it because I cannot listen to it :/

  7. lbdiamond says:

    Sorry the video doesn’t work. YouTube is so fickle. 😦 *pouts*

  8. Krispy says:

    I can’t really write to music unfortunately. Not usually. It tends to distract me, so the best thing would be silence. Barring that, I can work with instrumentals.

  9. I can rock out to heavy metal, listen to the B52s. or play Mozart. Its all good. Well, maybe not country. Kinda hard to write to that playing in the background.

  10. Ciara Knight says:

    I’m all over the place on listening to music. I actually tend to write with no sounds sometimes. Other times, I’ve got some crazy music cranked. 🙂

  11. Arlee Bird says:

    This is one of my favorite songs. I first heard it by David Gilmour on his 2002 concert DVD and my wife and I just fell in love with the tune and listened to it over and over. Since then I’ve added The Man Who Cried DVD and soundtrack to my collection. Also a copy of Bizet’s opera The Pearl Fishers which is where this aria first appeared and several other CDs with versions of the song including a beautiful rendition done by Alison Moyet.

    You have great taste in music!

    I like to listen to classical music when I write.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z

Leave a Reply

