Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Inspiration


Deb asks:

What type of book do you read for writing inspiration, and why? Do you read fiction or non-fiction, and what genres? Mysteries and YA, or archeology and astronomy?

Great question!

The simple answer is I read YA books to inspire me for my YA WIPs and I read middle grade for middle grade inspiration. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I prefer paranormal, horror, sci fi, fantasy, and all things magical. I also like unique and “odd” things. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children fit the bill for unique and odd. The voice, while it seemed “old” for YA, along with the isolated setting and eerie photographs, really created a fresh landscape that captivated me and totally got my creative mind going. The Marbury Lens would be another example.

I’m not big on non-fic. At. All. Lol! I’ve read enough textbooks in my lifetime. That’s enough non-fiction.

On the other hand, there are a lot of great books for writers on technique, like Save the Cat. It’s on my TBR list…towards the bottom, haha!

How about you? What books do you read for inspiration?

12 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Inspiration

  1. Sarah Fine says:

    Great answer, Laura! It makes a lot of sense. And–I’m with you on the nonfic, for exactly the same reason ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. EArroyo says:

    To keep me moving forward I read non fiction. I picked up a few over the years: Life is a Verb by Patti Digh, Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott, Courage and Craft by Barbara Abercrombie are ones I’m rereading now. =)

  3. roguemutt says:

    Usually I try to read something similar to the area I’m working in. Like when I wrote my book “Where You Belong” I reread every John Irving novel (in rough chronological order) since it was supposed to be written like that.

  4. Mike Offutt says:

    I read anything that sounds interesting, from fiction to non-fiction. I have no quirks really when it comes to reading and am open to just about anything…even romances.

  5. Lydia K says:

    I’ll answer next week! Although, as far as craft goes, there’s nothing more inspirational than reading a fantastically written book. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Karen Lange says:

    I love that we are able to read for research! Since my WIP is historical fiction I read a lot of that. I’m not suffering, it is my fave. Recently finished Cathy Gohlke’s Promise Me This. It was excellent, very inspiring, and since she’s such a good writer, a good teaching tool.

  7. Yay, Laura! Great answer! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Donna Hole says:

    I’m not a non-fiction fan either; though I’ve read a lot of memoire that deals with substance abuse, DV, and some FBI/DEA agent – stuff. I like to keep my women’s fiction characters “real” and some non-fiction helps with that.

    But I do love the horror/sci-fi/fantasy realms. I haven’t read a writing book in a few years. I should do that. Soon.

    ……..dhole

  9. Krispy says:

    Good books always inspire me. So if I really need a kick, I’ll go and skim parts of my favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Rek says:

    Thanks for visiting…my genres choices match yours (no horror) though I write social short stories (you could say women or contemporary fiction). No biographies or memoirs for me unless it is fictionalised enough. I don’t think writing books are for me…though I read a couple. I prefer to keep in mind basic, useful techniques I pick from writing based blogs.

  11. LB, you will get a lot out of Save the Cat. That is my favorite writing book!

  12. Good answer.
    I’ve never heard of Save the Cat. Love the title.
    BTW I nominated you for an award at my mustard blog.

Leave a Reply

