(Non) Writer Wednesday


I’ve been seeing some Tweets lately of writers who have lost the mojo or motivation to write. Not that this is a new thing. It isn’t.

I mean, really, it’s impossible to churn out words and develop new ideas ALL THE TIME, right? Right.

So, is it okay to take time off?

Yes!

And if so, do you still consider yourself a writer?

Of course!

How do you fill your non-writerly time?

See below πŸ˜‰

 

When a Shiny New Idea strikes, I often obsessively work out characters, settings, plot twists, etc. I jot down notes, daydream about scenes, and often have wicked insomnia as I toss around dialogue in my head.

Cool.

Now, when Shiny New Idea becomes First Draft Manuscript (which occurs the moment I type THE END), I breathe a sigh of relief…

…and stare around the room like I have absolutely no idea what to do with myself.

And I consider the following…

Non-writerly Writer Activities:

  • Read
  • READ SOME MORE
  • Catch up on blog reading
  • Beta read/Critique
  • Spend time with friends/family
  • Shop
  • Outline Next Shiny New Idea
  • Revise old manuscript
  • Write something completely different, like a short story or flash fiction piece or poetry

What do youse guys do when you’re not writing?

Check out Lydia’s response to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog topic of “writerly edumacation!”

11 comments on “(Non) Writer Wednesday

  1. Sarah Fine says:

    I’m waiting on revision notes right now, so don’t really feel free to start something else, or finish other things that are patiently waiting for me to return. It’s not the most comfortable place to be (fortunately, I should get notes in the next few days!), but I agree that reading is often the solution! I’ve read three books since sending off that ms!

  2. roguemutt says:

    Despite what they say, you can’t write every day for 365 days a year. Every sport (even golf and NASCAR) has an offseason.

  3. I don’t write every day. I go on huge hiatuses that last for months. I agree with Mutt (although he is more productive than I).

  4. Karen Lange says:

    I pretty much do all of the above. Especially the “read some more”, which is one of my favorite things to do. Shopping is good too, and very therapeutic, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

  5. Krispy says:

    I sleep! Haha. No, I waste time on the internet and read and watch tons of TV. I do love me some TV. I also, sometimes, dare to venture into the world and you know, interact with people.

  6. Donna Hole says:

    I do all of the above; except for outline. I either write, or not . .

    But, I also like to take a couple days and mello out with computer games – cards, collapse, Maj Jong, jewel quest. Then I do some agent/publisher shopping.

    Mostly though, I take long naps . .

    …….dhole

  7. These are EXACTLY what I do too.

    I’m currently planning my SNI, but I’m still sneaking in the other things too.

    I like mulling over ideas and jotting them down while working on other projects. That way when I’m ready to work on a new project, I’m not left with the terrifying feeling of “What now????”

  8. kendallgrey says:

    I’m definitely one of those in the funk at the moment. After beating myself up over the guilt for a week, today I decided there would be no writing. I planned to work on my daughter’s quilt all day long. Of course, I got distra–SQUIRREL!

    I ended up formatting my first book for print. It was a good day. πŸ™‚

  9. Ciara Knight says:

    Most people who follow me would probably never guess, but I love killing things. Not real things, I promise. I LOVE video games where I spend time slaughtering monsters. It seems to calm me down after a hard day of writing. πŸ™‚

  10. LydiaK says:

    I heartily enjoy my non-writing time, even if I do feel a little guilty not writing!

  11. akossket says:

    I usually read or work on some graphic projects when I’m not writing. It makes me still feel productive while having fun and relaxing. Oh and it helps with the guilt that comes with not writing, not matter the reason πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

