Writer Wednesday–A Confession


I have a bit of a confession.

I’ve been struggling with writing since summer. Perhaps it’s frustration at the system, perhaps it’s stress from an uber-busy work schedule, or perhaps it’s something else entirely. Okay, so I generally have ups and downs with writing (who doesn’t?) but this slump has been the longest of record since I started seriously writing three years ago.

I’ve considered quitting. I’ve considered small presses. I’ve considered self-pubbing. I’ve considered scraping yet another manuscript to focus on the next WIP to polish and query to agents.

While these ideas were all appealing in their own way, I still wasn’t sure what to do.

One thing happened, though, that I wasn’t expecting.

Due to some seriously awesome writerly friends, I had a chance to talk my thoughts out and get some opinions of people who’ve gone through the whole “agent–small press–self-pub” cycle. They’ve generously shared their wisdom and knowledge with me so I feel more empowered and prepared to combat the industry.

So, here’s what I’m going to do. I’m still querying my dystopian, but I’m also going to pull out my middle grade (which has been dormant since spring) and will start revisions on that sucker so I can get it query ready.

I feel like I’m heading back to basic training for another tour of Operation Get Published.

Anybody willing to join me?

Hey, check out Lydia’s Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog response on if she Nanos.

19 comments on “Writer Wednesday–A Confession

  1. EArroyo says:

    I’m right there with ya. I’m glad you haven’t given up but don’t beat yourself up either. WE all need a vacation sometimes. =)

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    Don’t give up! I, too, have been struggling. It has been a tough few months. Keep the faith and know we are all in this together. If you ever want to bounce ideas or run something by me, feel free. I’m here.

  3. I’m with you! Keep going!

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    This writing gig is a crazy journey of ups and downs. We’re in this together. Keep your chin up 🙂

  5. Vicki Tremper says:

    I second (or 5th) everything said above. You are not alone! I’ll be revising my MG next month, after NaNo, so we can bounce MG voice issues off each other. The query trenches are rough, but only those of us who’ve been through them (and survived) understand. Go, YOU!

  6. Ah, your writing is too freakin good to give it up. Keep at it and I’ll help in anyway that I can. MG is awesome and I can’t wait to see more of it. I want to be on the LD Operation Get Published Train! 🙂 Rock on, Sista!

  7. lenny says:

    hi dr laura! yippee! your not giving up! that makes me soooo happy. 🙂 im happy youre gonna get going on the mg ms. if you want you could let me be a kinda critiquer for it cause im a mger. happy wednesday!
    …hugs from lenny

  8. akossket says:

    I’m there with you as well. Next year is going to be nothing but revision and query for me. So if you need someone “new” to bitch and moan to I will listen and then give you cake or ice cream or cupcakes. Then you will be powered up back.
    I’m glad you didn’t give up. You can do it. There is an agent for you out there who is going to love your manuscripts. *hugs*

  9. I’m pulling for you! You can do it. 🙂

  10. Karen Lange says:

    I can relate somewhat. Certain writing projects have been a challenge this year. I think it is due to overload; I need to say no to more peripheral things. Wish you the best on your new adventure!

  11. I’m with you! I’ve been working on other projects, so I totally admire your determination.

  12. Amparo Ortiz says:

    Stay strong, Laura!! Trust me. I get down A LOT, then I remember that I can do whatever I set my mind to, and I keep going. Sure, I might never get published, but writing makes me happy. If it makes you happy too, don’t quit.

    Sending good vibes your way!!

  13. Laura Diamond says:

    Thanks everyone! I’m loving the support. *group hug!*

  14. amie borst says:

    it’s hard not to get frustrated – believe me i’ve been there. but yay for you, for not giving up!

  15. Catherine Johnson says:

    Hang in there laura, it sounds like you are on the right path. *group hug* for sure. I think it’s wise to take a step back now and then anyway to re-evaluate things. Good luck!

  16. kmcambion says:

    My writing has been uneven as well. Not ready to go on the publishing road yet, but I’ll definitely cheer you on.

  17. I went with a mid-size publisher for my book and see nothing wrong with that. Sure everyone wants the Big Six luxury lavish but let’s face it, very few of us actually make it there. If you do…congrats. But you’d probably get a positive experience through a mid-size publisher too. I know I am.

  18. So been there, done that and will probably go there again.

    I agree with everyone else. You’re an awesome writer and your skillz are what encouraged me to join/follow your blog.

    And besides, I’m still waiting to see that dystopia in print so I can find out how it ends. 🙂

  19. Lydia K says:

    You can do it Laura. I know you can. Small to mid size pubs are a great way to go and that MG has soooo much potential!

Leave a Reply

