Blog Tour with Ciara Knight–LOVE’S LONG SHADOW


 

Liza, the main character of my current YA WIP, has taken over the blog today. She’s interviewing Sammy, the main character in Ciara Knight’s debut novella, LOVE’S LONG SHADOW.

Let’s give it up to Liza and Sammy!

**********

Liza arrives late, no thanks to Nicolai and his soulful chocolate eyes, full lips, and that damn lock of hair that just wouldn’t stay out of his face. He got so close to kissing her this time that she almost grabbed him by the collar and smashed her lips against his. Then again, Josh rounded the corner just as they parted and if they had kissed, he would’ve seen. Knowing her luck, the two guys would’ve launched into another round of let’s-see-who-can-bruise-who-the-most.

With a deep, cleansing breath, Liza tosses her mahogany mop of hair over her shoulder, adjusts her leather bomber jacket, and enters the diner. Hovering near the doorway, she searches for Sammy, an online forum acquaintance, turned Facebook bud, turned oh-God-am-I-really-meeting-someone-I-met-online-for-real friend.

There she is, sitting in the far corner, wearing the silver wing necklace just like she’d said. Liza strides over, cringing at the squeaking of her glittered Converse sneakers.

“Sammy? I’m Liza.” She sticks out her hand and is pleasantly surprised at the strength of Sammy’s grip. She’s also startled by her warmth. Instantly, all the angst of the day melts away. She slides into the booth across from her new friend, rehearsing the questions she so desperately wanted to ask.

“Listen, I know this sounds weird, but I also know you’ll understand. AV—the guy I told you about—keeps bad-mouthing Nicolai and I just…I just don’t know who to believe. So…how can you tell if someone is who they say they are?” She resists the renewed urge to run her hands through her hair or slam her forehead on the formica table. Good thing, too, cause it’s totally sticky. Gross.

“Take a deep breath.” Sammy gives her warmest smile and clasps Liza’s hands.  “I’m afraid there isn’t an easy way to define someone. Unfortunately, I have little memory of my past life in Heaven and I’m learning everything as I go here on Earth. But, I can tell you, a local demon named Forras and his goons have a few traits. Shadows might dance around instead of staying still, orange flickers in their eyes, and a strange pull deep inside to join them despite the warning sounding in your head.”

“That’s pretty scary. Nicolai hasn’t done that. Neither has AV. Geez, why can’t people just wear a sign, I’m good, I’m bad, or whatever.” Liza sighs. “I didn’t even think any of this existed before…spirits trapped on earth, angels, demons, witches. What does it all mean? Sammy, tell me the truth, do you believe in this stuff? For real?”

“Well, I’m a fallen angel, so, yeah, I believe.” Sammy shifts in her seat and withdraws her hands and pushes her short, dark hair behind her ear. “You see, some people might call me a demon, but I’m not. I made some sort of mistake in Heaven and now I’m being punished. Either that or I have a reason to be here, I don’t know. I hope I have some sort of purpose here. I’m still trying to figure out what my angel gift is and who Boon is. Yeah, I agree, I wish they wore a sign letting us know who or what they were. I haven’t seen these signs around Boon, yet, I’ve been told he’s a demon. I’m not sure those deep brown eyes could harvest any demonic energy.”

“You really are an angel? I kind of thought you were kidding.” Liza snorts. “Man, all this talk about Heaven and demons and stuff. Maybe AV is onto something. God, if he’s right, then I’m in trouble.” Liza chews her lip, heart hitching to an unsustainable rhythm. She flattens her palms on her knees to keep them from trembling. “If someone’s soul is trapped on earth, how does it get freed?”

Sammy swipes tears from her eyes. “Sorry, dreaded human emotions, they still sneak up on me. Alex, my earthbound brother, thinks we need to make up for our past wrongs by killing demons. I’m not sure I agree. Maybe, we just need to protect humans from evil. Oh, I don’t know. I just hope I figure out a purpose soon or I’ll be stuck in purgatory forever.”

“I would hate to see that happen to you. You’re too nice and good.” Liza leans back, hoping she doesn’t end up in purgatory. She wonders if that’s what’s happened to Nicolai. She shakes her head, still unconvinced if Sammy’s story is like hers. There’re too many different variables. Regardless, Sammy seems honest and she listens. And that’s precisely what Liza needs. “Look, I’m sure you’ll figure things out. Here’s my number. Call me, okay?”

******

What a compelling conversation, Liza and Sammy! Thanks so much for sharing with us, ladies!

If you’d like to read more about Sammy’s story, check out Ciara Knight’s LOVE’S LONG SHADOW, available through Turquoise Morning Press.

Ciara Knight (Pen Name)

*******

Check out Lydia’s answer to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog question about inspiration.

19 comments on “Blog Tour with Ciara Knight–LOVE’S LONG SHADOW

  1. Will says:

    What a clever idea for an interview! I don’t think I’ve seen this done before.

  2. Julie says:

    Great talk girls! Loved this. Very interesting to get a look into the personalities of these characters. Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Sammy Lorre says:

    It was a blast to meet you, Liza. I’m off to school but will stop in this afternoon.
    It’s nice to meet you, Will. I’m enjoying this internet stuff, it’s kind of lonely in the small town of Kemp, FL.

  4. kendallgrey says:

    Love the interaction between your characters. I’ll bet it was fun putting this together. 🙂

  5. Ciara Knight says:

    Thanks for having Sammy here today, she bounced out the door to school this morning.

    @Kendall – Laura did a great job.

  6. Well done! What a fun interview!

  7. Sammy Lorre says:

    Thanks, Deb. I think I’m getting a little better at this. It’s nice to meet you.

  8. Loved the interview awesome!!!!! c(:

  9. Now that was an interesting discussion!

  10. Lynn Rush says:

    Great post. Love these characters!!!!

  11. Donna Hole says:

    I liked getting to know these two characters. Having them talk together gave me insights into the books. Way cool idea.

    ……..dhole

  12. lbdiamond says:

    Hey everybody! Thanks for stopping by. Liza tells me she appreciates all the support. *hugs!*

  13. Sammy Lorre says:

    Anna – I’m taking a break from studying for my Cal test and thought I’d pop in. I’m so glad you liked the interview. I’m kinda shy about things like this.

    Alex – You sure this isn’t my brother. You keep popping up. 🙂 It’s nice to see you again. Well, um, chat, I guess.

    Lynn – Glad you enjoyed. Tell Emma I said hi.

    Hildie – Thanks

    Donna – I’m glad you enjoyed the chat and that it gave you insight into our crazy lives.

  14. Lydia K says:

    That was fun! I loved meeting Liza and Sammy!

  15. Ciara Knight says:

    HI everyone! I wanted to announce the winner here first. I’ll also post this on my blog tomorrow. 🙂

    The winner of a free ebook of Love’s Long Shadow is…Anna!!!!
    Congratulations, Anna

  16. lbdiamond says:

    Congrats, Anna!!!!!!!!

  17. Carol Riggs says:

    Well, that was inventive, how fun! ;o) Best wishes for Ciara’s continued debuting!

  18. Vicki Tremper says:

    That was fun! Good luck, Ciara!

Leave a Reply

