Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Pet Inspiration


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Deb asks:

How do your pets/kids/plants (something you take care of) influence your writing?  Do they help you, or distract you?  Do you include them in your stories?

Great question, Deb! And quite apropos as we prepare for NaNoWriMo. I mean, really, if ever there was a time when writers need inspiration, it’s during NaNo. Am I right?

My ragdoll cat, Gracie (y’all met her last week), definitely inspired my writing. In my very first book, the main character has a long haired, blue eyed kitty with a diva attitude. Like Gracie, this feline offered just enough support to keep the main character happy, but then had her own schedule to keep, regardless of the mayhem happening in the MC’s life.

Yeah, that’s how Gracie rolls.

On the other hand, if kitty wants some one on one time, writing just ain’t gonna happen. You know what I’m sayin’? 😉

How about you? Has your writing been inspired (or, gasp, hindered) by a pet, person, or plant? Do share!

Stay tuned for Lydia’s answer next week!

13 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Pet Inspiration

  1. Andrea says:

    My kids always inspire me. Since I write children’s fiction, I’m mostly writing to please them.

  2. Karen Lange says:

    Haven’t written anything pet inspired, but have had family and friends inspire traits in characters. I have to be careful though, so no one recognizes anyone! 🙂

  3. Linda Gray says:

    My kitty was just like that, only without the long hair. My time was her time, that was her attitude. She often insisted on sharing my lap with my computer, and sometimes ‘helped’ me type. Here’s the truth: I’m getting more work done since she passed. Here’s the other truth: I miss her so much!

  4. EArroyo says:

    My kids are great and I’m not saying that because they’re mine. Okay, maybe I am. But while writing my current YA Horror I had been a bit traumatized by a murder I wrote. Okay, it was pretty gruesome and I felt for my characters. While brainstorming possible ways of dying, I went to my 19 year old and he had me rolling with laughter on ways I could create the scene. It made me realize that there is fun to this morbid act of writing death scenes. After all, it’s just fiction. =)

  5. LOL! When Churchill wants attention, I don’t get much done, either. Times four, and I wouldn’t get anything done!

    Your cats are gorgeous, especially Gracie. 🙂

  6. Lynn Rush says:

    I just love it when my dog (Sheltie) cuddles up beside me or at my feet when I’m writing. It’s just sweet. It doesn’t really affect my inspiration. No, I’m mostly a music person for that. And then I have this special sweatshirt I like to pull out and wear when writing. I’m stoked for Nano. Love that challenge!!!!

  7. I haven’t had a deep and lasting connection with pets as I’m allergic to pet dander and slobber. And when I say “allergic” I really do mean that my skin within minutes, breaks out in itchy, painful red bumps. So I keep my house completely clean of them. The only kind of pet that I can live with is maybe a fish but fish don’t cuddle.

  8. I always write characters based on people I’ve met, but I never thought about including pets! What a great idea.

  9. Lydia Kang says:

    I love that Gracie was in your story! I’ll answer my question next week so i won’t give anything away. 🙂

  10. kendallgrey says:

    My dog sleeps beside my leg while I write. I don’t know that she inspires me, but it makes me happy to feel her warmth there. 🙂

  11. Oh sweet. You are the psychiatrist that I spoke of on my blog comment (couldn’t remember the name but now I know better) that I had a question for so here it is. Laura, why do boys or men seem to like dark, grisly things? I’ve noticed from the boy I interviewed plus other guy friends that I know that we all seem to be drawn or interested in gristly stuff. Any idea why?

  12. Ciara Knight says:

    My kids inspire me daily. Even with little remarks or weird habits.

  13. aparnanairphotography says:

    I have an anthurium downstairs. And I also have an African Violet plant in my office. Speaking of sparking creativity, my patients have been drawn to it – they seem to take a person interest in seeing how it grows and flourishes. I think they find a little bit of their own life force being rekindled by that once struggling, but now flourishing, plant.

Leave a Reply

