Mental Health Monday–Support Matters


So, part of good mental health includes having a strong support network. Lemme tell you, writers KNOW how to support one another.

Elizabeth Mueller proposed that we writers spread our support of Bethany Wiggins and her debut novel SHIFTING by posting this post on our blogs. SHIFTING goes on sale tomorrow and it’s DEFINITELY on my list of books to read!

Give some applause to Elizabeth and her fabulous idea and give a woot-woot! to Bethany!!!!

*claps and woots*

 



Book blurb:

After bouncing from foster home to foster home, Magdalene Mae is transferred  to what should be her last foster home in the tiny town of Silver City, New Mexico. Now that she’s eighteen and has only a year left in high school, she’s determined to stay out of trouble and just be normal. Agreeing to go to the prom with Bridger O’Connell is a good first step. Fitting in has never been her strong suit, but it’s not for the reasons most people would expect-it all has to do with the deep secret that she is a shape shifter. But even in her new home danger lurks, waiting in the shadows to pounce. They are the Skinwalkers of Navajo legend, who have traded their souls to become the animal whose skin they wear-and Maggie is their next target.


Full of romance, mysticism, and intrigue, this dark take on Navajo legend will haunt readers to the final page.

About the Author:
 
Bethany Wiggins has always been an avid reader, but not an avid writer. Seriously!!! She failed ninth grade English because she read novels instead of doing her homework. In high school, she sat alone at lunch and read massive hardback fantasy novels (Tad Williams and Robert Jordan anyone?). It wasn’t until the end of her senior year that the other students realized she was reading fiction–not the Bible

 

Several years ago Bethany’s sister dared her to start writing an hour a day until she completed a novel.  Bethany wrote a seven-hundred page fantasy novel that she wisely let no one read–but it taught her how to write.  The fifth novel she write, SHIFTING, is being published by Walker Books September 27, 2011.


 

Blog: www.suzettesaxton.blogspot.com

web page: www.bethanywiggins.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10224627-shifting

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Shifting-Bethany-Wiggins/dp/0802722806/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1316660383&sr=1-1

 ******

Be sure to check out Lydia’s Medical Monday post and Sarah Fine’s blog.

18 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Support Matters

  1. Sarah says:

    Whoa–that cover is really intriguing! Congrats to Bethany–this book looks fantastic!

  2. Sheri Larsen says:

    Too funny. I’m spotlighting Bethany’s book tomorrow on Oasis for YA, yet I hadn’t heard about Elizabeth’s suggestion. 🙂 I love the sound of this book.

  3. Ciara Knight says:

    Sounds like a great read. I like the cover. I’ll check it out tomorrow.

  4. Kendall Grey says:

    Yeah, this story sounds really cool. I love the skin walker idea. And that cover with the snake at the end of the braid – AWESOME!

  5. Lynn Rush says:

    Oh wow. This sounds awesome!!! Love that cover there, with her hair shifting into …. is that a snake? Ohhhh…. 🙂

  6. Aw sweet, writer love!

  7. A 700-page fantasy novel…

    /smacks forehead. Why oh why are the fantasy novels getting so big? I wrote one and I may get around to trying to get it published someday but it is 220 pages double-spaced. And that was plenty to tell my story.

    That is an awesome cover though.

  8. Writers are awesome. And as a side note, I had the chance to read an ARC of Bethany’s book. It’s definitely in my top 5 for the year. Buy it. Read it. Thank me later.

  9. lenny says:

    hi miss dr laura! for sure supporting each others writing is just way important. you did a real nice post for miss bethanys book.
    …hugs from lenny

  10. Karen Lange says:

    I agree, we need to support each other! Thanks for sharing the info about the book. Happy Monday! 🙂

  11. Lydia K says:

    Hooray to Bethany! I love that cover. The girl looks kinda l.ke Anna Paquin!

  12. Linda Gray says:

    Wow, this looks like a great read! Thanks.

  13. Carol Riggs says:

    This is a great premise! And the cover is definitely eye-catching too. All the best to Bethany for her book release!

  14. I always love it when I read that it’s not the authors first, second, or even third novel that was published. 😀

    This book is on my TBR list. I just have to make a huge dent in my TBR pile first.

  15. Yay Bethany! Woo-hoo. It’s on my list! I love the full of romance, intrigue, and mysticism. And tomorrow is my birthday. My pal Tess Hilmo’s book debuts tomorrow. I’m thinking it’s a good day for debuts. 😉

  16. Thank you so much for spotlighting me! I feel the love all the way over HERE! I ❤ my writer friends. LOVE them.

  17. Yes, Shifting is on my list, too. Can’t wait! Good luck to Bethany!

  18. aparnanairphotography says:

    Me too! I’d love to read this!

Leave a Reply

