Mental Health Monday–Remembering


There were so many touching remarks and moments of remembrance on the 10 year anniversary of 9/11 that I actually struggled with how to approach this Mental Health Monday post. So, I’m simply going to give my story because sharing helps us process scary and horrible things and helps us cleanse our feelings.

I feel fortunate in that I was not directly impacted by the tragedy, but I certainly know many people who were. I also distinctly remember where I was and what was happening the moment I heard the towers had been hit.

I was sitting in a lecture on blood cell line development during my first year of medical school in Westchester County, New York. The Dean of students interrupted and announced what had happened. Since at least a 1/3 of our class was from NYC and several upperclassmen were doing rotations in the city, we were let out of class to try to contact our loved ones.

I’ll never forget the angst, emotion, fear, panic, and utter helplessness of the day. I’ll never forget the sound of F16’s flying overhead every 15 minutes. I’ll never forget watching the towers fall, disbelieving it even as it happened.

I want to direct you to Lydia’s post about her experience on 9/11. It’s powerful.

 

10 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Remembering

  1. Such a surreal moment, one we will never forget. The light tribute is really powerful.

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    What a scary moment, huh? Gosh, watching all the stuff yesterday on TV…ripped my heart out.

    It’s good to remember, though. To honor those her perished and lift up those who have fought or are still fighting for our freedoms.

  3. Kendall Grey says:

    Hard to believe it’s been 10 years already. Such a rush of emotions – even now. Still gets to me.

  4. Linda Gray says:

    That day will never leave our consciousness. It must have felt surreal for you to hear those F16’s.

  5. I was living in California on 9/11/01. I remember waking up to the radio and thinking they were playing a hoax program, like War of the Worlds. I couldn’t believe it was real. We watched it on TV all day at work, still in shock.

  6. Karen Lange says:

    This anniversary has stirred many memories. I wasn’t directly impacted either, but knew a few people who were. It still almost seems surreal, to watch the footage. I am glad that despite the tragedy, hope and compassion rose.

  7. Vicki Tremper says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience, Laura. We lived in Hoboken, NJ, back then, right across the water from downtown Manhattan. I used to drive home from the school I taught at, looking directly at the Towers. That day, I tried to drive home, but they had closed all the roads into Hoboken and Jersey City, because emergency efforts were being staged there. But for the half hour I drove in the direction facing the Towers, all I could see was the giant plume of smoke. I will never forget that.

  8. Lydia K says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience Laura, and supporting mind. Hugs right back to you.

  9. Ciara Knight says:

    Lydia made me cry. 😦 It was such a touching and real post. I’m glad you both are okay.

Leave a Reply

