Flake-out Friday: A Tribute to My Momma


My Mom is a pretty special lady. And I’m not saying that just because she’s my mom, ‘kay?

One of her talents is painting and I just HAVE to share the more recent art she made. Just. For. Me.

Donna’s Fancy Dancer

(Isn’t is beautiful? It sits above the mantle, a place of honor.)

Here’s another fav project from a few years ago.

What special talents do your family members have?

17 comments on “Flake-out Friday: A Tribute to My Momma

  1. She’s very talented! I love the horse painting! She could do your future book cover 🙂

  2. EArroyo says:

    Nice! My momma can cook! Yeah, she makes the best _arroz con gandules_ (rice with pigeon peas).

  3. Arlee Bird says:

    Those paintings are beautiful. I love the color gradients of the first one. She can’t do it anymore, but my mother was a dancer. My whole family juggles.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    Wow. That’s freaking AWESOME!!!!! Very nice.

  5. Kendall Grey says:

    Those are beautiful pieces, Laura! My mom’s side of the family is filled with creative brains too. Most of them are musically gifted. Lots of song in this bunch. I love that!

  6. Hey, you’re mom is talented! Great paintings!

  7. Carol Riggs says:

    Very lovely, both of those! Your mother is talented. My mom is an awesome quilter, and designs her own quilts. My daughters sing and one also writes songs. My grandma and aunt used to quilt and do crafty things too. We have a creative bent in our family–like yours!

  8. lenny says:

    oh wow miss dr laura!! for sure i love that horse picture and the house ones pretty cool. i like that you did a special post for your momma so you could share out her talent. youre just real special for doing that.
    …hugs from lenny

  9. Ciara Knight says:

    Wow, brilliant! I love those pictures.

  10. Oh, gorgeous! My family has the writerly talent, artist talent, having the power to harness pure motivation, compassionate, mechanical inclination as well as electrical, inventors, readers, dancers… We are full of talent.

    Happy Friday!

    ♥.•*¨Elizabeth¨*•.♥
    Can Alex save Winter from the darkness that hunts her?
    YA Paranormal Romance, Darkspell coming fall of 2011!

  11. Karen Lange says:

    Your mother is a wonderful artist!

  12. lexcade says:

    Those are gorgeous! I love the horse. I tried to draw a horse last night and….it’s never seeing the light of day.

    My sister’s musically talented. When we were in high school, she played almost everything in the band. She can also write and paint, though she paints more than she writes.

    My mom crochets like a fiend. Gorgeous afghans.

    My dad built half our house. He’s amazing as a carpenter. I keep telling him he should just do that for a living.

  13. Lydia K says:

    That horse is amazing but I LOVE the house. It’s got so much charm and warmth and personality!

  14. Your mother’s two pictures are very versatile. Very sweet for you to publicly recognize her.

    My mom painted a picture for me when I was a baby. It was in my room throughout my childhood.

  15. tiffiny says:

    oohh! I have a very talented cousin who can write like a dream 😉

  16. Mike says:

    Those pictures are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

