Flake-out Friday–Meet the Cast


Ok, so we all have our own mental picture of our characters, right? I certainly do. That’s why I’d like to dedicate this Flake-out Friday some of the characters from my new WIP.

Liza VanHassell–main character

Nicolai Drago–Liza’s love interest

Mattie Westerberg–Liza’s BFF

Josh Parker–Liza’s boy friend

How do you picture your characters? Do you use actors/actresses or do they take their own “persona” in your mind?

16 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Meet the Cast

  1. Kendall Grey says:

    Cool characters! Nicolai looks like a yummy bad boy. πŸ™‚

    I usually “see” my characters in my head first, but if I stumble upon a pic that fits, I download it, print it, and plaster it all over my office walls. I love looking up at their faces for inspiration. Glad to know I’m not the only one who does this. πŸ™‚

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    Both. Sometimes I see actors, other times I create them in my head. My current WIP, I see Nathan Fallon as the uncle. πŸ™‚ I like your cast. πŸ™‚

  3. Lydia K says:

    I like your characters! Liza seems particularly perfect. πŸ™‚

  4. Vicki Tremper says:

    Like, Ciara, both for me, too.

  5. Reece says:

    I always have an idea of what my characters look like, and sometimes I stumble across and actor/celebrity and think “that person looks a lot like X character.” Unfortunately, my grasp of popular cultures is practically nonexistent, so the best I can manage is “that guy from that one movie.”

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    Ooh Mattie looks interesting, I bet she sparks an interest with Nicolai πŸ˜‰

  7. I have images of what my characters look like in my head. I create them and write out all the details describing them in my notes, even if I don’t use some of the details in my stories. After I have an image in my head, I have noticed that I sometimes pull features of celebs or people I know but its not intentional. =) I’ve tried to “cast” my characters before with pictures, but it’s hard for me since I have such a clear image of my character in my mind that I can never find a person that fits to my satisfaction.

  8. Donna Hole says:

    When I see actors/actresses that I think would look good as my characters, I spend some time picturing it in my mind. My characters looks in my mind changes though. The basic description is the same – hair and eye color, facial features, body build, height, weight – but that fits a lot of different people.

    For instance, I like Liza here for my MC Amy when we first meet her. At age 40, however, Valerie Bertinelli looks right . .

    Awesome characters. I wish I could hold one particular look like that πŸ™‚

    ……….dhole

  9. I mostly create my characters in my head. Having the ability to draw and paint, I can usually create them on canvas if need be. I did for my first novel.

  10. roguemutt says:

    I use the Sims 2 to design mine. Or the Nintendo Wii.

  11. lexcade says:

    I can’t draw worth a darn, so I depend on the internet. Most of the time there’s an actor I can base their looks on, but their personalities are all their own πŸ˜‰

    Lovely cast! I especially love Ben Barnes. He’s GORGEOUS.

  12. romancingforthrills says:

    Fab casting for your characters πŸ™‚
    I finding use actors to visualize my characters works really well too.

  13. Mike says:

    You had me at Alex Pettyfer’s picture. I’m hooked now.

  14. Kerri says:

    Nice cast! Liza’s BFF Mattie looks like she is fun to hang out with. Good luck with your story πŸ™‚

  15. Oh, I LOVE the looks of your MCs! And I know how hard it is and how long it takes to search for just the right face. ❀ Thanks for sharing your hard work, Laura! *hugs*

    β™₯.β€’*Β¨ElizabethΒ¨*β€’.β™₯
    Can Alex save Winter from the darkness that hunts her?
    YA Paranormal Romance, Darkspell coming fall of 2011!

Leave a Reply

