Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Genre Crushing


New month means a new topic for the sisterhood members to comment on!

Lydia asks the following fun and fantastic question (whaddya think of that alliteration, huh, huh? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ):

“I have a genre-crush on______”

(In other words, what genre or category of writing you like and wish you could tackle, and why you haven’t.)

I think I’ve naturally gravitate toward paranormal, sci/fi genres, so that’s what comes to me when I develop WiP’s.

BUT, I have a big genre crush on HISTORICAL and CONTEMPORARY novels.

Historical novels are fascinating to me, but why do I shy from writing them? Because I am not research oriented enough to tack down every. single. detail. *shrugs* I’d rather make things up, LOL!

Contemporary novels can be interesting because of their “humanness.” I would find them challenging to write because of the pacing. My writing tends toward the faster pacing and I am working on slowing it down, but I don’t think I could handle contemporary pacing just yet.

There you have it. My genre crushes.

How about you? What genres do you like but are reluctant to write?

Stay tuned for next week when Lydia answers her own question! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

10 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Genre Crushing

  1. Sarah says:

    Fascinating question, Laura, and great answer! I’ll have to save mine for a few weeks from now …

  2. I enjoy a good mystery from time to time, as far as reading. I used to be really into Tony Hillerman’s novels and I loved Nancy Drew as a kid, but I’ve never written one mostly because I don’t have the planning gene strong enough to manage the plot: the mystery, the clues, the red herrings, all of it.

  3. EArroyo says:

    I love reading historical romances and horror.

    I love writing anything fantastical with a fast pace with romance thrown in, of course. =)

  4. Ciara Knight says:

    I love to read sci-fi but I’m not bright enough to write it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh yes! I’d love to write Historicals, but I’d never stop researching long enough to write them. LOL!

    Like Sarah, I’m saving my true crush for later. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lydia K says:

    Those are good ones! I can’t wait to see what everyone says. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. lexcade says:

    I have a huge crush on Victorian lit, but I’ve never tackled it because that’s an enormous bunch of research, and I’m not so sure I can tackle the vernacular…

  8. That is a fun question! I have a genre-crush on mystery novels. I have half tried to tackle it within my fantasy novels, but attacking it head on? I’m not sure I could. Everything has to be just right. Lean to far one way and give it all away to early (which happens a lot) or you’re too subtle and readers end up saying huh? Tricky stuff!

  9. Great question! I used to be afraid of historical too, until I tried it. I’m afraid to make up my own world.

  10. I personally really enjoy reading autobiographies. Reading about a person’s own life is very interesting. I am not nearly famous enough to write one though!

Leave a Reply

