WIP Wednesday–The Love Triangle


*****Don’t forget to enter my 300/500 followers contest to win a crit and book of your choice! The deadline is July 31, 2011 Midnight EST, so please spread the word!*****

I’m about 1/3 of the way done with the first draft and I’m still quite ecstatic with my new WIP. I’m particularly stoked about the love triangle that’s forming between my main character, a long time friend, and the mysterious hottie she’s just met.

Okay, so the love triangle concept isn’t new, BUT it IS new for me. I don’t generally go heavy on the romance angle. I mean, it’s there, but it’s not the main focus of my novels. I tend to go for much more action oriented stuff. So I’m treading new ground here.

Anyway, I bring it up because I see a lot of love triangles in YA fiction (need I mention Twilight? Yeah, didn’t think so). As with all things, I suspect there are people who like the  love triangle and people who abhor it.

So tell me, friends, are you PRO or ANTI love triangle and WHY? Do you write love triangles? Why or why not?

Don’t forget to check out Deb’s response to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog topic of maintaining patience during the query process!

Every Wednesday

18 comments on “WIP Wednesday–The Love Triangle

  1. I do love Twilight but I dislike love triangles that feel forced, when you can tell the outcome from the start but they just produce endless conflict for the sake of it. It should feel real, a true dilemna for the character, one you live with them and are kept guessing. Sounds exciting, good luck with it!

  2. EArroyo says:

    I love love triangles. I love romance, i’m just cheesy that way. I like it because, especially in YA, there is always one that got away. The what if…question in who she decides to stay with ultimately shapes who she is. In a way. LOL. Love always trickles in my manuscript and yes, another option for her and him if possible. I think it heightens the emotional response of your MC. And hopefully your reader.

    Anyway, back to my cheesy love story. LOL.

  3. Lynn Rush says:

    Yeah. I really like love triangles. Especially in YA because it’s so true to the age, you know? I remember all the love triangles in my growing up years. Totally spot on! But you’re right, don’t really like forced ones. I like ones that keep me guessing who’s going to be chosen. And even surprised.

  4. I write triangles. They’re shiny. But, actually, I think they’re so popular in YA because most of us as teenagers waffled between boys for whom we had feelings, some of us probably daily. They’re relatable, even if they feel overdone. What’s funny is that I sometimes experiment with only having the one love interest for the whole story. But I seem to always go back to the multiples. Sometimes it won’t be so much a triangle as a character liking one person, something happens and they have a falling out, and then said character realizes they really are in love with someone else who just happens to have been on the page from an early stage.

  5. Linda Gray says:

    I think love triangles can be excellent for keeping readers turning pages. They up the conflict in one of those ways everyone relates to. Jealousy, anyone? In my own writing, love is a central theme, but I never write love triangles, unless Life Getting in the Way— those pesky unwanted things that pull the rug out from under your feet, and your relationship—can be considered the third party.

  6. amie borst says:

    I LOVE love triangles! but they are getting a bit old, so it has to be quite unique and fresh to feel like it’s not the same old, same old. bet yours is fantastic!! so glad you’re loving your new manuscript, too! that’s such a wonderful feeling!

  7. Ciara Knight says:

    I don’t write a lot of love triangles but I read them. I think it is such a natural part of growing up that it is a plausible plot element in YA. Great post, Laura.

  8. Donna Hole says:

    Sometimes they work, and sometime not. My first novel has a love triangle and of course I think it necessary to the plot – both character and overall. Aside from that one novel, I don’t give love triangles much thought when I’m reading or writing. I’m not opposed to them, but they have to be necessary, serve some purpose besides spicing up the romance.

    I’m with you on writing romance usually; I write it in the plot but it is not the focus. Usually. Hmm, I guess it is on my first novel; but I don’t consider it a “romance”.

    Happy writing 🙂

    ………dhole

  9. Congratulations on all those followers. (Sorry I missed it when you hit it.)
    And I’m not much for love triangles, but then again, I don’t read those types of books.

  10. I have to say I’m a little tired of love triangles in YA. Every time I come across one I think, Oh no, not another love triangle. That doesn’t mean I won’t pick up a book I otherwise want to read. Congrats on all that writing progress!

  11. Sarah says:

    I get tired of them and don’t tend to write them. I’m experimenting with one in the current wip, so we’ll see if I can pull it off. Good luck with yours!!

  12. The manuscript I recently completed started with a triangle, but I couldn’t sustain it and keep the mystery going as well while still coming in under word count. So I dropped it in the first revision. Obviously, I like them. Good luck with yours!

  13. I actually had an agent tell me I needed to add a love triangle to my story. At the time I thought it was worth the re-write, but I’m not so sure what it will bring to the plot of that particular story. I can see it in the sequel, though.

    I do enjoy reading stories with love triangles. Have fun writing yours. 🙂

  14. Karen Lange says:

    I don’t mind a love triangle as long as the ones I’m rooting for get together. 🙂 Haven’t used one in a story yet but may someday. Will check with you for pointers!

  15. Hi, Laura,

    We seem to be on the same wavelength. I am doing final revisions on my Y/A contemporary and of course there is a love triangle, This was my first as well, since my first novel(s) are a M/G/Y/A fantasy.

    I think if there is a unique spin on the relationships it could be very reciting. I found the Meyer’s tri, boring and whiney. I know yours will be so much better.

    I actually didn’t think about the triangle as I wrote my novel, it just sort of “popped” up. So in my revisions I am putting a bit more emphasis on it just to flesh out the story a bit more.

    Good luck on the res of your first draft…. I am so excited for you.

  16. roguemutt says:

    My latest idea starts as a triangle and then becomes a square or something once a fourth person gets involved.

  17. Yeah, I like them. There’s lots of conflict in love triangles. My current novel has one. I didn’t mean to include one. It kind of just happened lol.

  18. I think having a love triangle is very interesting and can be exciting, even done again and again. I have one is my mystery novel.

Leave a Reply

