Mental Health Monday–Lucid Dreamer


So, you’ve all probably noticed the new header on my blog. I found this image when surfing the web for inspiration for my newest WIP. I was looking for something romantic, dreamy, and beautiful. I imagine my MC’s love interest pining for his love and the woman in this image is her. She’s dreaming and quite unaware of his affection toward her. He must wake her and convince her to love him or his soul will be lost forever.

As an aside, I’ve been discussing dream analysis with the super talented, super knowledgeable psychologist on my team and she identified me as a lucid dreamer. Basically, it means I am aware when I’m dreaming and can alter dreams when I want. Now, this doesn’t happen every time I dream, but if something’s going in a way that I don’t like, I can either “rewind” the reel and “fix” things or I can alter the dream structure so it works out better. (Kind of like Inception, eh?)

This inspired me to change the title of my blog too. Now, everything “matches” within a theme, LOL!

For Mental Health Monday, I’d thought I’d share some information about lucid dreaming.

The term was coined by Dutch psychiatrist Frederik van Eeden (1860-1932). Lucid dreams can occur in one of two ways. 1) the dream starts out as a normal dream would, then the dreamer realizes it’s a dream and manipulates what happens, and 2) the dreamer goes from a normal waking state directly into the dream state and controls what happens, with no apparent lapse in consciousness.

This concept has been used in helping people overcome nightmares, particularly associated with trauma. The nightmare suffer practices purposefully altering the scary qualities of the dreams. The idea is that when they actually fall in to the dream state, those consciously changed scenarios will carry over in the dream and the nightmare will lose its impact.

So, are you a lucid dreamer? If so, what aspects of dreams do you like to change or do you just like to sit back and observe things as they unfold on their own?

 

17 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Lucid Dreamer

  1. Sarah says:

    I often become aware I’m dreaming and either decide to wake up or leave the premises because I don’t like what’s happening. I’ll think, “uh-oh, something bad is going to go down, so I’d better get out of here.” It really only happens during bad dreams, though. Very interesting, Laura, and I like the new look!

  2. I like the picture! Sounds a cool thing to be able to do, I have no such control over my dreams but I never have really vivid dreams where I can’t tell that I’m dreaming.

  3. Regina says:

    I think that is really cool that you can manipulate your dreams like that. Mine just take over and I don’t have a choice but to go for the ride. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sigh. My dreams lately have been too pedestrian and silly. Like finding an old box of papers, including the first pages of my novel COVERED in red ink in my dad’s handwriting. The critique and typo fixes didn’t bother me at all, but I was FURIOUS that my dad had shoved it into a box rather than give it to me.

    Now does that say anything about my state of mind? Le sigh. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Linda Gray says:

    I would LOVE to be able to dream lucidly when I’m asleep. In fact, I’d love to remember dreams, period. There have been some huge dreams throughout my life, ones I thought were lucid because I knew I was dreaming and they were technicolor and had high impact, but I don’t think I could control them. Alas, they seem to have disappeared from my dreaming. I have practiced deep, active meditation for years, however, which sounds a lot like lucid dreaming. Fascinating stuff, thanks! p.s. this new look on your blog is beautiful.

  6. Vicki Tremper says:

    I learned this concept when I was a kid but have never been able to change things unless I’m starting to wake up. I’ve tried teaching it to my youngest son because he gets nightmares, but he says he can’t do it.

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    I’m so NOT…I rarely remember dreaming. It would be super cool to be able to manipulate them, though. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love these mental health Mondays. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lydia K says:

    I love your new blog header! It’s so dreamy. Really! Perfect post to go with it.

  9. Natasha Hanova says:

    Oh Laura. You’re touching on a subject near and dear to my heart. I, too, am a lucid dreamer. I remember almost all my dreams and sometimes use them in my writing. It’s so awesome you have a team mate with knowledge on the subject.

  10. Ciara Knight says:

    I’m so NOT a lucid dreamer. I wish I was. I usually can’t even remember my dreams. I use to be when I was younger.

  11. roguemutt says:

    I’m not a lucid dreamer, but I did write a story once about a blind man who could see into other people’s dreams and change them, often with unexpectedly bad consequences. This was in 2005 so Christopher Nolan can suck it. http://roguemutthp.blogspot.com/

  12. Kendall Grey says:

    I need to interview you. My trilogy’s heroine is a lucid dreamer, and I’ve been researching lucid dreaming for over a year now. Now I’ve actually found a real live person who can do this! Girl, you are so mine! Seriously, I want to hear more about this and how it works for you.

  13. So awesome! Your blog is beautiful! I love the background. *shiny*

    I’m a very lucid dreamer. *high five* I change the dream or watch the dream depending on what type of dream it is. I’ve also been known to go to “sleep” during the dream. So the dream keeps on going, but the sound goes fuzzy and everything’s black. ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Jc Martin says:

    Love the new look! I rarely remember my dreams, but the ones I do remember I often decide “Hey, this is a dream, let me try this…” or “I don’t like this nightmare. Wake up!” So yeah, I suppose I am an occasional lucid dreamer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. akossket says:

    I so wish I could do this. It would be useful when I get those nightmares of mine. *sigh*

  16. karimariewhite says:

    I think I’ve actually done this before, except at some point I start believing I’m totally awake (but I’m not). It’s really strange and kind of freaky sometimes.

  17. I am a lucid dreamer too – I love your new image and blog name!!! All my story ideas have come from lucid dreams. I only wish I could initiate them more often. The most amazing and mysterious process… I wrote a post on it a while back too and have done a little research. But I love that you are using lucid dreaming in a story, too

Leave a Reply

