WIP Wednesday


Hey gang!

I don’t often do the WIP update thing, but I’ve actually done some REAL writing in the past week or so. (Which, in and of itself is miraculous, LOL!)

  • I finished my middle grade! Got some great beta feedback already and am waiting for more before I revise.
  • I got a neato idea for a YA project. It’s based on a classic, but revamped enough that it is NEW. So far, I have a rough outline jotted down. I’m gonna flesh it out some more and hopefully get working on it in the next couple of weeks or so.
  • I’m still querying my YA Dystopian. It’s hard waiting for responses and even harder seeing the rejects add up, but I’m hopeful something positive will happen. If not, I can query the MG when it’s ready.

Ok. So that’s my update. (Earth-shattering, ain’t it?)

Your turn, writers. What are you working on? Do tell!

Tune in next Wednesday when we start another round of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog!

14 comments on “WIP Wednesday

  1. I’m revising a chapter book. Good luck querying. I love your attitude – just query the MG when it’s ready!

  2. Elizabeth Arroyo says:

    Wow, You’ve been busy! I think it’s awesome when inspiration, or madness depending on your take, hits. I’m working on a YA Dystopian. Trying to finish that up has been slow going. I also have two other ideas outlined. Good luck on your querying.

  3. Linda Gray says:

    Hey, Laura, congratulations on getting actual writing done and all the progress you’re making! Sounds excellent.

    I’ve fallen into a bit of a resistant slump the past few days myself, not wanting to do the revisions I know need doing asap, (easy to do them in my mind, much harder on paper; and playing Sarah Bernhardt is beginning to feel like a default position.) So I had a revelation (obvious) last night, that the way to release energy for revising is to spend more time working on my other WIP, where I can write fresh new material. Guess, the party’s over, SB!

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    Keep at it. I have a stack of rejects a foot high before I got my agent and book contract. Press on, my friend.

  5. Carol Riggs says:

    Congrats on finishing your MG, and cool you have a new idea for a YA. πŸ™‚ Hang in there for the querying–rejections are part of it. It only takes ONE agent to like something. I had 2 fulls rejected and then the third accepted! I just finished my first round of revisions for my agent and am taking a break. Have a great weekend!

  6. Ciara Knight says:

    Great job, Laura!

    Just finished turning a short story into a novella for my publisher. Now back to my YA dystopian. I hope to have it complete and ready to submit to my agent by September.

  7. Congrats on making progress with your writing. I’m working on life at the moment. Taking a break from projects. Blessings to you, Laura…

  8. Stephanie McGee says:

    Congrats! It’s always so satisfying when you finish a draft or a revision or an outline.

  9. Jamie Grey says:

    Wow – sounds like you’ve been busy! Congrats on finishing up the MG! I’m in the middle of revisions myself so I feel your pain πŸ™‚

    Good luck on the querying – it’s always so stressful, but I’m sure something good will happen. Just keep the chocolate handy! πŸ™‚

  10. Sarah says:

    Sounds like you have a lot of things going! I’ve just revised something and just started something, which is nice. What I fear most is the gap between projects.

  11. Donna Hole says:

    What a busy writing life you’re having πŸ™‚ I’ll bet it feels good.

    I finished my bio to send to the SrEditor at An Honest Lie3. Its harder to write than I thought it would be. She gave me great feedback on what she wanted though.

    I’ve got my submission for writers group on 7/16 about half-way written. Its going good, except I’m not sure I developed a plot for it.

    Last night I sent a query and first five pages for Not Her Mother’s Fate.

    Hmm, my list isn’t earth shattering, but it is progress for me. I think I deserved those chocolate covered strawberries my boss brought to our meeting yesterday πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a satisfying and productive rest of the week Laura.

    …….dhole

  12. Lydia K says:

    You are getting so much done, it’s putting me to shame! I’m editing my dad’s stuff; then I have to beta read :O) and then I have to finish my MG outline.

  13. Kendall Grey says:

    Yay, Laura! Congrats on finishing your novel!

    I’m working on revsions of my second book in the JUST BREATHE trilogy. Got some great, positive feedback after tepid crits on chapter 1. Reworked that thing for 2 weeks and finally gave up. My CPs say it’s much better, so I’m JUST BREATHING a huge sigh of relief now. πŸ™‚

  14. Amanda says:

    Yay, you’re just moving along. Congratulations on finishing your book. πŸ™‚

    I’ve been very stuck. I think my W.I.P. was starting to go off in the wrong direction, but I might know what I need to do… sort of… maybe. πŸ˜•

Leave a Reply

