Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog…


Hey gang!

Gosh, I’m swamped this week–gearing up for my new job working on the inpatient psychiatric unit, while continuing to work with my outpatients and patients at the HIV clinic has taken on a new momentum. On top of that, I’m helping with an SBIRT conference today and tomorrow. We’re having guest speakers from Yale give grand rounds to many of the specialties here at the medical center.

For those of you who don’t know, SBIRT stands for: Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment.

Basically, we’re teaching residents (doctors in training) how to evaluate their patients for risky alcohol, tobacco, and illicit substance use, how to have a conversation (using Motivational Interviewing techniques that include being non-judgmental and collaborating with the patient to find ways to reduce risk of harm and medical illness) about reducing the use of these things for the betterment of the patients health. Those who are at high risk for health issues related to their substance use may be referred to substance use programs for further evaluation.

Phew! And that was the short version, LOL!

Anywho, I’m telling you this so that y’all know where I am (cuz I expect to be less visible in the interwebz for the next few days).

Also, be sure to check out Lydia’s response to the question Deb posed last week about personifying your muse!

 

12 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog…

  1. Sarah says:

    Sounds busy but interesting. I love hearing about what you do, Laura!

  2. Kendall Grey says:

    Wow. Respect. Seriously. I had no idea you had so much going on. Oh, and I guess you’re being a writer too in between psychiatric gigs. Woman, you amaze me!

  3. Life sometimes intervenes on our best laid plans. Go show those folks how it’s done.

  4. Lydia K says:

    I am very bad at motivational interviewing technique. (hides)
    Wow, you are one busy gal! Congrats on your new position!

  5. Wow, you’ve got a bunch of hard – and important – jobs! Congrats on the new one!

    So I’ll offer a muse personification to you. 😉 I see your muse as a tiger slinking through the jungle, barely seen most of the time, but ready to pounce and take action. Usually when you least expect it. 🙂

  6. My goodness, what a busy schedule. I certainly feel better about my week. 😛 Hope you resurface soon!

  7. Linda Gray says:

    That is a lot (!), and substance abuse can be such a difficult area. Fascinating about motivational interviewing technique. Brilliant. (Under the circs I am especially grateful you commented on my blog post–thanks!!) Here’s to success for you in your new role in the inpatient unit, AND to you finding some time to rest somewhere along the line!

  8. Personifying my muse? I missed that one.

    Good luck with work.

  9. vixter2010 says:

    Woo busy! But very worthy, good luck with it all!

  10. Ciara Knight says:

    I’m exhausted just reading this post. Wow, I’m so not worthy to even be reading this post. 🙂

  11. Nas Dean says:

    Hi Laura,

    Sounds interesting. I like reading about what you do. And I was just reading Lydia’s answer to the MUSE question, hilarious!

  12. Sounds like you’re finding your balance.

Leave a Reply

