Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–aMusing


Hey, hey! A new month means a new traveling blog topic!

This one is brought to you by none other than the fabulous Deb!

She asks:

How would you personify your muse?

Wow, GREAT question! (Namely because I don’t picture my muse to be anything…er, well, except fickle and flighty, LOL!) Seriously though, I haven’t really developed what my must looks like.

Let’s create one together! *bounces in chair*

Okay, so what characteristics would I want in a creative archetype of myself, AKA, my muse?

  • Intelligence
  • Imagination
  • Energy
  • Fearlessness (how else am I gonna get enough courage to try something new?)
  • Patience
  • Intuition
  • A sharp set of eyes and ears
  • An endless supply of iced coffee and chocolate (MOST important characteristic, IMHO)
  • A great playlist for tunes
  • Organizational skills

Nice list. BUT, what does that LOOK like?

Dunno.

Hmmm, let’s brainstorm…

Well, perhaps for me, I like the abstract idea of what a muse represents and not necessarily what my muse would look like. If my muse is ethereal, then I can moan and complain when my muse leaves me. In that scenario, it’s not really my fault when I slack off. I just pretend my muse has abandoned me to go off on vacation. I picture my muse soaking up some sun, sitting on some tropical beach, drinking mojitos that should be MINE.

Wait a minute. Why does my muse get to take a break when I don’t?

Not.

Fair.

Well, guess what? I don’t need a muse. I can do this myself, darnit! *turns on laptop and mutters about the injustices of the situation while Word to boots up*

Ahem. *fixes hair, straightens shoulders, and smiles*

I better end that ramble…

(Wow, see what happens when a mind goes off on its own?)

Yeah…

Ok, so what does your muse look like? (Feel free to post pics. 😉 )

Next week, Lydia will give her response. Stay tuned!

Every Wednesday

11 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–aMusing

  1. Sarah says:

    Very nice, Laura. Deb really came up with an excellent and tricky question this time around! *creeps off to hide until July*

  2. Kendall Grey says:

    Sadly, I don’t have a muse. I just have these amorphous flashes of inspiration every once in a while (not nearly as much as I’d like). BUT, If I could design my own muse, he’d be a hot tattooed guy like the hero in my trilogy. With big black combat boots to kick my butt. 🙂

  3. Vicki Tremper says:

    Wow, not something I’ve really given thought to. You handled it awesomely!

  4. Gaby Moore says:

    Yeah, I don’t think of my muse as a physical being so I don’t want a face to it. That would freak me out. LOL

  5. I never gave it much thought either. I don’t conjure up a muse or wait for one. My inspiration comes to me from my surroundings. Nature, music, and people are my muse.

  6. Lynn Rush says:

    Gosh. I think my muse changes. Really. Depends on the story and my characters. Right now I have a New Adult story I’m editing that I wrote a coupe months ago. This chick is wicked-tough and strong. So, I picture my muse much the same. The music I have playing is also rough and hard. They all work together to keep me motivated and inspired. 🙂

  7. vixter2010 says:

    I don’t have a muse either, I don’t know if I fully understand it but imagination is surely the muse we need!

  8. Olga Kotova says:

    I’m not a writer, but I would love to get a muse. There’s too much housework. Maybe the muse could do it. That would be the most inspiring.

  9. Lydia K says:

    OMG, I just got a vision of my muse. What a little…
    You’ll just have to wait until next week to see it!

  10. I used to think I had to be struck with inspiration to write, like being visited by a muse. Eventually I switched my mode of operation, and now I’m the exact opposite… I totally rebel against the idea of muses! How things change. 😛

  11. roguemutt says:

    Hey come on, a muse is like God, it can look like whatever it wants to look like.

Leave a Reply

