Mental Health Monday is on Holiday!


(pic link)

Hi all! I hope you’re having a great (maybe somber, depending on what this holiday means to you???) Memorial Day. Let’s take a moment and remember why we’re celebrating this holiday–because of the men and women who gave their lives for freedom and to protect our nation.

What’s the best way to remember someone?

Why, host a barbeque, of course! 😉

Anyway, I think it’s important to honor serious things and also to relax when the time is right. So, dear friends, what’s your favorite way to relax on a holiday such as this one?

  • I enjoy spending time with my fam.
  • I also enjoy sleeping in.
  • AND, when it’s nice out, I enjoy sitting on my porch, reading or watching the world go by.
  • More seriously, I remember my Grandpa, who was in the Navy during WWII. Luckily, he survived the war, but was taken from the family when I was 10 because of lung cancer. I still miss him.

Anyway, that was a bit of ramble. Next week, I’ll return to the regularly scheduled Mental Health Monday posts.

As always, these posts are meant for writing purposes only and are NOT to be construed as medical treatment or advice. Be sure to check Lydia’s Medical Monday post and Sarah’s psych related post.

10 comments on “Mental Health Monday is on Holiday!

  1. Sarah says:

    I spend time with my family and cook out. Nothing exciting. But it is nice to have an extra day at home with the kids! Have a great Memorial Day, Laura!

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    This is a holiday close to my heart. My dad served in Vietnam and it was difficult to return home to the hatred. People blamed the vets for the war. It was sad. Now, I have three boys and pray everyday that our world calms down before they come of age to fight for their country.

  3. Kendall Grey says:

    My dad, like Ciara’s, fought in Vietnam as a marine. He doesn’t talk about it much, but I know how hard it was for him.

    I like to spend Memorial Day with my dad and the rest of my family. It’s a good excuse to get together and to remember those who gave their lives to keep our country free.

  4. Time with family and sleeping in are always good. I might unpack my summer clothes today depending how the day goes. I am going to spend some time out in the hammock with a good book.

    My grandfather was in WWII, Army I think.

  5. We like relaxing and eating. How easy is that? We’re not hard to please. Ha! We are relaxing and eating today. Blessings to you, Laura…

  6. Linda Gray says:

    b-b-q is always good, as is relaxing on a front porch with a big glass of iced tea. Or wine. Remembering the fallen takes on extra poignant significance these days for Americans, no matter our politics. For those who have lost someone in war, our hearts go out in support.

  7. Trisha says:

    Me likey the bbq!

    I have a friend who lost her parents on Memorial Day Weekend nearly a decade ago – so for her it has a whole different grisly meaning. Sad 😦

  8. Misha says:

    Hope you enjoyed your Memorial Day.

    I like relaxing and doing as little as possible on my public holidays.

    Only for a while, though, because we have a lot.

    🙂

  9. Gotta love a BBQ and those who have and continue to protect our country. 🙂

  10. Gaby Moore says:

    My dad was in the military a long time. Hope you had a good holiday. Tag, you’re it! I told Ciara I’d let you know. Stop by her blog, http://www.ciaraknight.com for more info.

Leave a Reply

