Flake-out Friday…the 13th!


Here’s some fun facts regarding Friday the 13th. (No, not the movie, the actual superstition.)

The fear of Friday the 13th = friggatriskaidekaphobia–If you say it three times while standing in front of a mirror, Biggy Smalls will pop a cap in your ass. (For those of you who don’t know, I totally bastardized a South Park episode there. 😉 )

Author Charles Panati theorizes:

The actual origin of the superstition, though, appears also to be a tale in Norse mythology. Friday is named for Frigga, the free-spirited goddess of love and fertility. When Norse and Germanic tribes converted to Christianity, Frigga was banished in shame to a mountaintop and labeled a witch. It was believed that every Friday, the spiteful goddess convened a meeting with eleven other witches, plus the devil — a gathering of thirteen — and plotted ill turns of fate for the coming week. For many centuries in Scandinavia, Friday was known as “Witches’ Sabbath.”

Another superstition (derived either from the Last Supper or Norse Myth): Having thirteen people seated at a table will result in the death of one of the diners.

(Thanks, Wikipedia, for such interesting information!)

Take home message–avoid Fridays and don’t eat dinner with 12 other people.

Also, the CW’s final episode of Smallville airs this Friday the 13th. (I don’t watch that show, but am somehow saddened by this.)

Frigga

7 comments on “Flake-out Friday…the 13th!

  1. lbdiamond says:

    I guess Blogger is still down (or not allowing comments). Testing to see if WordPress still works. Seems it does.

  2. Indigo says:

    Wicked cool facts. Some of which I admit, I didn’t know at all. Thanks! (Hugs)Indigo

  3. I had no idea about the table. That seems like perfect novel fodder 🙂

  4. roguemutt says:

    I never have to worry about sitting with 12 people at my table.

    And I haven’t watched “Smallville” in about 8 years but I saw the last 20 minutes of the finale. Pretty predictable but how else could you end it except for him finally becoming Superman?

  5. Kendall Grey says:

    Interesting about the 13 people eating together. I’ve never heard of that. And Norse mythology – awesome. Sorry, gone off on a tangent. I’m going to see “Thor” tonight and very excited. 🙂

    Have a great weekend, Laura!

  6. Vicki Tremper says:

    My 13th passed uneventfully. How about yours?

    I learned about Frigga and the other Norse gods in 5th grade. That is way too long ago for me to remember anything. Sigh. Thanks for putting a little of that back in my memory – lol!

  7. Lydia K says:

    I am not saying that three time! (Mostly because I can’t.)

Leave a Reply

