Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Finding Mojo


A new month means a new topic for the sisters to tackle. This month, I pose the following question:

What to you do when you lose your writing mojo? Do you push through it and write no matter what, do you take a break, do you fret, do you commisurate with other writers, do you schedule an appointment with you local voodoo priestess? Dish, peeps.

Honestly, I’ve lost my mojo more than once. Certain situations leave me vulnerable to it.

Examples:

  • Rejection
  • Facing a major revision
  • Not having a shiny new idea
  • Losing my confidence
  • Reading something so good I couldn’t possibly come close to writing that well and getting discouraged

So, how do I combat being mojo-less?

I’d be lying if I told y’all I didn’t wallow in it. Of COURSE I wallow in it. I complain. I whine. I pout. (Charming, eh? I’m so mature, LOL!)

The key is that I don’t wallow in it excessively. I get the angst out (usually by talking to my writing pals and crit partners). Then they tell me to get back to it.

AND I DO!

As scary as it is to open that Word document, I do it.

And I write.

Whether it be 10 words or a 1000, I write. By the time I’m done, I usually feel better.

What are some other things I do to rebuild my mojo?

  • Think about the progress I’ve made
  • Re-read something I wrote that was really good
  • Read novels in my genre
  • Do something else (taking a break is NOT a bad thing…failing to get back to writing is)
  • Remind myself why I’m doing this–for fun, because I want to, because I want to see my novels in print, because I can’t imagine not doing it

How about you? How do you find your mojo when it’s gone missing?

Every Wednesday

21 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Finding Mojo

  1. Sarah says:

    It’s amazing what social support and the right cognitions can do. Lovely post, Laura!

  2. Misha says:

    I tend to take a break until my fingers start itching to write. The good idea tends to follow soon after.

    🙂

  3. I take a lot of walks. I know, can we say overly simple?

  4. Brett James Irvine says:

    I generally take a break, or turn to reading stuff that inspires me. Something I think is great writing (David Mitchell, always!) or short stories with great ideas. I always get ideas and inspiration from other great ideas, I usually read it and think “man, wouldn’t it be cool if…” and off I go.

  5. vixter2010 says:

    I wish I knew for sure I had the writing mojo 🙂 I think a break is also useful to get out of the house or read or watch a film and then just write through the pain. As you say it’s always good to remind yourself of your progress!

  6. Vicki Tremper says:

    I always try to keep my hand in – I at least attempt to write something each day, and if that doesn’t work, I’ll do something writing-related. Even if I take a break and do something else, like crochet, I try to think about writing, or read writing blogs, or make myself some tiny task related to my wip.

    Anne Lamott says to aim for just 300 words a day, even if that’s pre-writing or writing a letter to a loved one about an event or time in your life, which could end up in your wip. Wouldn’t it be great to do that from a character’s POV?

  7. Reece says:

    I like to do something else and let my brain work on automatice—kind of like Einstein in the patent office (no, I’m not saying I’m the Einstein of the writing world). I vacuum the house or do the dishes or something similarly mindless so I can be thinking at the same time. I come up with more ideas that way than almost any other!

  8. John Sankovich says:

    When I lose my Mojo I sort of do similar things as you, I sit down and write a little as I can daily until the floodgates bust open. I’m a stubborn guy when it comes to my writing so it works for me.

    The only time I take a break is I take a break for a week when I finish a project then I send it out to get critted and start a new project.

  9. Kerri Cuevas says:

    I read lots of books and then words build up in my brain. If I don’t type anything they get angry and say bad things. So, I give in and type something…anything. LOL!

  10. Stephanie McGee says:

    I usually either take a break or jump to a different project.

  11. Linda Gray says:

    First of all, in response to your headline topic question: YES!! I do all those things (sigh). Taking a break is my default reaction; getting back into writing after said break is my challenge. The one thing that works every time is support from my crit partners, including the bludgeoning kind you’re talking about along the lines of “Get off your behind and get back to that wonderful manuscript!”

  12. Lydia K says:

    Oh the mojo. I hate losing mojo! I do so much of what you do. You’re stealing my thunder, Laura!

  13. Lynn Rush says:

    Missing mojo. I usually try and write through it. Or, I hop on my bike for a long ride with some rockin’ music blaring in my ear (I only wear one earbud while biking for safety)

    I usually work through whatever was stumping me then hammer out some words.

    🙂

  14. roguemutt says:

    My sister lost her scrapbooking mojo recently. I said, what are you, Austin Powers? Yeah, baby!

  15. Trisha says:

    Personally, I find it pretty amazing how quickly my mood can change. One minute I’ll be all “WOW i am so AWESOME at this!” and the next I’ll be “AHHH what’s the point?! every word I choose is WRONG, I SUUUUCK!”

  16. Ciara Knight says:

    I write through it or do something physical to get my mind off whatever is blocking my imagination. Great question. 🙂

  17. Christine Fonseca says:

    Dude…so swmming throug this muck of late. Thrw a life raft, k?!? LOL!

  18. Christine Fonseca says:

    WOW! Nothing like typos in the AM. OOPS

  19. Akoss says:

    I have more than one wip in need of some writerly love/editing/polishing. That’s just to show how often I feel like that and jump in a new shiny project to help overcome it.
    I like your ideas to over come your mojo. I will certainly try them in the future. 🙂

  20. Great post Laura, I particularly like your suggestion to remind ourselves we’re doing this because we want to! My mojo has been off the last few month due to health reasons – that’s my biggest battle 😦

    Hugs,

    Rach

  21. […] (In case you missed it, here’s my response from last week.) […]

Leave a Reply

