“W” is for Worry Woes


Okay, so I’ve finally getting my YA dystopian to where I want it. Which means the next step is polishing the query letter (AKA document of doom) and synopsis (AKA I don’t wanna I don’t wanna I don’t wanna). (I don’t have a complex about these things or anything. *shifty eyes*)

So, what is it about the query letter and synopsis that has me shaking in my flip flops?

Well, I won’t go off on a rant here, but I’ll give a quick rundown:

  • The last time I queried, it was a disaster. DISASTER.
  • Rejections are depressing. (Yes, I get over it and move on, but still, it hurts.)
  • I got frustrated that I didn’t get anywhere. (Okay, so my writing sucked, but still, as a newbie I didn’t know that.)
  • I *hate* being frustrated. (I really don’t know anybody who likes it, LOL!)
  • No matter how many times I revised the query and synop, they were never “punchy” enough…which led to feelings of utter disappointment (in myself) and a sense of failure. Icky.

Okay. Lots of negatives here. GREAT fodder for worry, right?

Yeah.

So, how am I going to break out of it and dive into the crazy query race again?

  • Remind myself that my writing is, like, a THOUSAND times better than before.
  • Remember the support and compliments of writing buds and CP’s who believe in me.
  • Practice patience. More R’s will come, but I don’t have to get fatalistic about it.
  • Hang onto hope. Even if it ends up shredding my fingernails to bits, I’m not gonna let go.

Now it’s your turn to share. When you get the worry woes (for whatever reason), how do you get over them? Share your strategies.

Don’t forget to check out Deb’s answer to this month’s round of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog!

EDIT: Deb’s taking a break from the Sisterhood this month. 😉

17 comments on ““W” is for Worry Woes

  1. Vixter2010 says:

    I have EXACTLY the same worries as you. Querying was hideous the first time I did it and I won’t look forward to doing it again but as you say hope will have to carry as through. Good luck!

  2. Cheree Smith says:

    Good luck with the querying. I know how it really sucks to get rejections. I look at them as something that makes me stronger. I’m going through similar slumps with my project, but you can only push yourself forward. You’ll never get anywhere if you don’t try.

  3. Lynn Rush says:

    Hang on to hope, my friend!!! I’m here cheering you on!! You can do it.

  4. kendallgrey says:

    Your worries and fears are the same as everyone else’s. You are not alone.

    Writing is a cutthroat business. Expect rejections, but don’t use them as a gauge for how bad or good your writing is. Use them as a reminder that agents and editors suck, and if it weren’t for you, they wouldn’t have a job. 🙂

  5. Slap myself and tell myself to get over it…. Whine about it for all of ten seconds and move on.

    Our blogging buddies have and will have gone through this at least a thousand times; they lived through it and so will we.

    BELIEVE in your work. NO ONE can write YOUR story better than you.

    Queries are a crap shoot. You’ve got to hit it with the RIGHT person at the RIGHT time.

  6. Linda Gray says:

    Query letters and synopses are SO HARD. And rejection is the pits. But, lordy, do we all ever get plenty of experience there. The only way around the worries and depression that come with rejection, as far as I can tell, is the kind of support that builds confidence. For me, that comes from my critique group. Really important: having them critique the query letter and synopsis. There’s no substitute for another trained pair of eyes on these things, because we can’t always see what’s working and what’s not. We are too close to our novels to put their hearts and plots succinctly into marketing materials.

  7. roguemutt says:

    Come on, you’re a shrink, just prescribe yourself some pills for those worries. Or keep asking yourself “How does this make me feel?” And ask about your mother.

  8. Hope sista. That is a HUGE word. Yep, only four little letters, but it says SO much. Hang onto it like a lifeline. You and I will do this. We will get through it and hold our books in our hands. Positive thinking. (another huge word.)

    My writing partner Beth, gave me some excellent advice. (Her debut YA novel debuted at #seven on the New York Times best seller list.) She said, “Robyn, it only takes one agent. You just have to find the one that loves your writing almost as much as you do.”

    She queried fifty agents before the offers started rolling in. :0)

  9. HATE query letters and synopsis.

    I love your YA dystopia and know it will get picked up soon!

  10. Ciara Knight says:

    Turn to your writer friends. We are here to support you! 🙂 Email, chat, etc…anytime! Keep me posted on your progress.

  11. Don’t remember how to make a hyper-link, but here is the blog address I will tell you about below:

    http://keligwyn.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/seeking-representation-through-alaternate-methods/

    Keli Gwyn recently sold her novel. She gave up querying for reasons similar to your experiences. She began approaching her journey toward publishing in a different manner and was successful. This post tells about other options for seeking representation. Her post following this one reveals how she was able to finally see her book on the way to the shelves.

    This avenue is not available to me, because I am a 24-hour caregiver, but I would give it a try if I could. Blessings to you, Laura…

  12. Glad you’re still trying!

    All we can do is write, revise, repeat, query, revise either query or manuscript, re-query, and so on. Each time, let’s hope we keep getting better. All those in the know say persistence is key.

  13. Lydia K says:

    This is lame, but when I get down about the whole writing biz I keep thinking, it could be worse. It actually does make me feel better.

  14. Sarah says:

    Just think of the possibilities. Remember things can turn on a dime in this business (one week I was commiserating with a writing friend about all the rejection, and the next week I was fielding offers from agents–it really was a matter of days after months of querying). Keep the journey in mind–you’ve improved, and with your attitude, you will continue to improve. You’re not alone in the query boat. Though you might be the one in the boat with the coolest name for your query (“document of doom” just has a certain ring to it).

  15. Vicki Tremper says:

    Document of Doom? Love that. Your sense of humor will carry you through. Well, you might worry about querying, but it’s the way to get represented, and eventually published. So you just do it.

    So do I get to read that dystopian again anytime soon?

  16. Trisha says:

    Congrats on being nearly ready!! I look forward to hearing how you go 🙂

  17. cleverlyinked says:

    Weird, Im actually just now watching the vid for this book.

Leave a Reply

