“H” is for Humor


It’s the weekend and, in my opinion, it’s a wonderful time to relax and share a laugh. So, without further ado, here are some humorous writing quotes I came across this week:

  • Manuscript: something submitted in haste and returned at leisure. ~Oliver Herford
  • To be able to write a play a man must be sensitive, imaginative, naive, gullible, passionate; he must be something of an imbecile, something of a poet, something of a liar, something of a damn fool. ~Robert E. Sherwood
  • The only imaginative fiction being written today is income tax returns. ~Herman Wouk
  • A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people. ~Thomas Mann
  • There are three rules for writing the novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are. ~W. Somerset Maugham
  • Writing is 1 percent inspiration, and 99 percent elimination. ~Louise Brooks
  • I admire anybody who has the guts to write anything at all. ~E.B. White
  • No passion in the world is equal to the passion to alter someone else’s draft. ~H.G. Wells

What’s your favorite writing quote?

link

15 comments on ““H” is for Humor

  1. Jessica Bell says:

    LOL. Great quotes. I’m not the kinda person who can remember things like this off the top of my head! Sorry :-/

  2. Wow!! The quotes are cool!!!

    The definition of manuscript is extra cool !!!! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Cheree says:

    Fantastic quotes. I love Maugham’s quote. That’s definitely something to think about as I write my novels.

  4. Kristin Brænne says:

    ★★★★★

  5. Very amusing quotes… LOVE THEM!

  6. Damyanti says:

    Hilarious quotes….thank you!

  7. A Lockwood says:

    Those are great! One of my favorites: “I love being a writer. What I hate is the paperwork.” Not sure who said it.

  8. The quotes you listed made me smile. Blessings…

  9. Vixter2010 says:

    Brillant quotes, makes you wonder why we try 🙂 enjoy your weekend!!

  10. “A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people. ”

    ~Thomas Mann

    This is so true. Of course it is only harder because we make it harder, but still.

    Great quotes!

  11. Kari Marie says:

    I was going to say the first was my favorite, but then I reread the second, and the third. Gah! I love them all. I can’t think of another one at the moment. Great H post.

  12. Great quotes. I have a calendar with writer’s quotes, but somehow I never remember many. This is the one that’s up this month. from Douglas Adams.

    “I love deadlines. I like the sound they make rushing by.’

  13. Nas says:

    Great quotes. I loved them all!

  14. I am in insatiable collector of quotes so I am always impressed when I discover new writing quotes – thank you thank you! i loved the 1% inspiration one, 99 % elimination!!!!

  15. Akoss says:

    Thanks for sharing. I have two favorites out of this list:

    Manuscript: something submitted in haste and returned at leisure. ~Oliver Herford

    Writing is 1 percent inspiration, and 99 percent elimination. ~Louise Brooks

Leave a Reply

