“F” is for Fantasy


I’d like to take a moment and describe why I’m drawn to the fantasy genres. (I’m including things like paranormal, urban fantasy, and even sci-fi…I know they’re different genres, but they all bend reality, so I’m lumping them.)

Honestly, I think it’s an inherent preference. Right from the start, I enjoyed reading about magic, far off places, unfamiliar landscapes, and bizarre phenomenon. Why? For me, reality was, well, too real. When I read, I wanted an escape. I wanted to challenge my imagination. I wanted to feel that sense of wonderment at a creative mind.

In short, I found it fun to read the fantasy genres.

The same holds true for the adult me. Sure, I can read contemporary, historicals, classics. And I can enjoy them.

But what gets me the most excited to read are the fantasy novels.

What’s your favorite genre(s) and why?

Fantasy in blue

photo credit

20 comments on ““F” is for Fantasy

  1. Cheree Smith says:

    I love fantasy. Anything that helps me to escape the realities of life is great. I tend to go more for the paranormal and horror side, but I don’t know why. I just love all things dark.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I love fantasy too, I think it’s about the ability to transport us to a new world, escapism is needed sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kris says:

    Fellow A to Z’er stopping by. I enjoy most genres and don’t have a particular one that I like. I will say that I don’t like horror. I usually get too into the characters, and horror stories give me nightmares!

  4. A Lockwood says:

    I think I’m drawn to fantasy because I grew up with it. Reading fantasy allows me to experience things that are simply impossible to experience otherwise.

  5. Cherie Reich says:

    Love the picture. I’m drawn to fantasy for many the same reasons you mentioned. The other genres I love are mysteries and horror. I like the unknown in books and reveling in their revelations.

  6. Reece says:

    I prefer both science-fiction and fantasy. For me, the two genres do the same thing but in different ways. Sci-fi takes me on wild, hair-raising adventures in worlds that aren’t, but might be; fantasy does the same thing in worlds that definitely never will be, but wouldn’t it be cool if they were?

    I prefer these genres because the books I choose from them treat realistic situations in a world just beyond the realm of normality (I’m in the real world every day and it’s just a little too mundane for me to read about as well).

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    Wow. Love that picture. I really enjoy the paranormal romance genre. It’s a chance to jump into another world, much like fantasy, yet it’s kinda grounded in contemporary too–at least the stuff I like to read.

    Great post.

  8. I have to say that fantasy is my favorite also, although I read many other genres as well. Diving into a world that you’ve never been to before is thrilling, and I love finding the similarities and differences to the known world. It’s like traveling without the hassle ๐Ÿ™‚ I also need a break from the analytical/scientific world that I’m usually in.

  9. Mystery is my favored genre, although since blogging has entered my life, I’ve branched out into other genres. I am selective about the books I read. When I find an author that pleases me, I stick with him/her. I like a mystery series where the sleuth has a happening life of his/her own that underlies the mystery plot, adding another dimension to the story.

  10. Akoss says:

    Hmm… I use to enjoy Fantasy till the day I discovered Terry Brooks. After that I fell head over heals for Fantasy and have been in blind love ever since. ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Linda Gray says:

    My first choice for what I read when I go to bed at night: traditional mysteries. Love them, from Dorothy Sayers to Josephine Tey to contemporary writers of the form like Laurie R. King and Louise Penny. The best part is the relationships, the characters, and knowing they will solve something bad but the books will be filled with hope and fun and love, AND, there will be another book to read in the series with the same characters. Interestingly, I can’t write traditional mystery. My own work is less ‘predictable,’ and, oh, do I struggle with that!

  12. I’m a fantasy writer. I’ve written on m/g fantasy novel and will be getting back to second in the series soon.

    I love fantasy for the same reasons you do, Laura. I’m a descriptive writer and what better place to show off my ability than to write fantasy.

  13. Awesome picture. Laura. I have written picture books and adventure MG, but I have a MG fantasy swirling in my head. I’m afraid I can’t pull it off, but I’m still going to try.

    Great post. Great F word. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Mike says:

    Fantasy fiction is fun.

  15. Vicki Tremper says:

    I like anything that takes me out of my own little world for a while, and just about any genre can do that. Fantasy is just a lot of fun, and probably takes me the farthest out of my own little world.

    I love reading about magic so keep working on that MG!

  16. I love mysteries because I love solving problems.

  17. Ciara Knight says:

    Fantasy! Of course, that includes sci-fi, paranormal, Steampunk, etc… ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Margo says:

    I love fantasy too for all the same reasons as you, and it makes perfect sense to me lumping SF and paranormal in there too. Escape, wonderment, challenge to the imagination, the open door to endless possibilities…
    How about magical realism? I’m trying to figure this one out. Still not sure. I haven’t read enough yet in this genre.

    And I love that picture!

  19. I feel much as you do about fantasy.

    When I was a children and teen, I didn’t read much fantasy. There wasn’t the variety that there is now. It wasn’t until I became a parent to a first grader who asked me to read Harry Potter, I didn’t realize how far the genre had come. I love reading middle grade and YA fantasy, but I read other kinds of books too.

    I mostly write YA fantasy.

  20. Arlee Bird says:

    I like Southern literature and more contemporary stories since I can identify more with these genres. I especially like it when something is based on a true story or could be something that might conceivably happen within my realm of experience.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

Leave a Reply

